1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Google Sitemaps FAQ

Discussion in 'Google Sitemaps' started by astup1didiot, Oct 27, 2007.

  1. cohnpeter3

    cohnpeter3 Peon

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #41
    I thought this might help

    http://quick-help.net/xml-sitemaps
    SEMrush
     
    cohnpeter3, Jan 28, 2008 IP
    SEMrush
  2. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #42
    KVeil, Jan 29, 2008 IP
  3. astup1didiot

    astup1didiot Notable Member

    Messages:
    5,927
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #43
    Yes, I've seen those threads. It is\was an error on Google's side I believe, nothing related to the FAQ.
     
    astup1didiot, Jan 30, 2008 IP
  4. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #44
    @ssandecki: Any idea when it will be fixed?

    K
     
    KVeil, Jan 30, 2008 IP
  5. astup1didiot

    astup1didiot Notable Member

    Messages:
    5,927
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #45
    Not sure, I didn't know they were still have sitemap issues. You link me directly to your xml sitemap and I'll review it and make sure its standard. I've been lucky and had no issues.
     
    astup1didiot, Jan 31, 2008 IP
  6. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #46
    KVeil, Jan 31, 2008 IP
  7. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #47
    Update: The problem only seems to have started occurring with sitemaps listing one URL only. I added an additional URL entry (for the RSS feed) in the sitemap of one site (resulting in the "HL7Experts" sitemap having 2 entries) and the problem went away:

    http://www.HL7-Experts.info/sitemap.xml is now OK

    http://www.Style4BG.com/sitemap.xml still is showing an error in WMT

    Seems like a Google sitemap parsing bug for sure ...

    K

    @ssandecki: What are your thoughts on including RSS links in sitemaps?
     
    KVeil, Jan 31, 2008 IP
  8. astup1didiot

    astup1didiot Notable Member

    Messages:
    5,927
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #48
    astup1didiot, Jan 31, 2008 IP
  9. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #49
    KVeil, Jan 31, 2008 IP
  10. astup1didiot

    astup1didiot Notable Member

    Messages:
    5,927
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #50
    Ahhh, I forgot about that. Got me on that one!
     
    astup1didiot, Jan 31, 2008 IP
  11. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #51
    The advantage of using the V0.9 sitemap protocol is that I believe it is accepted across other search engines (Yahoo, MS Live, etc.) ...

    Adding a stylesheet also eliminates the "This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it" error displayed in some browsers...

    I had looked at your very useful FAQ but did not find any references to including the URLS of RSS feeds. Any thoughts on this?

    Also, I noticed you don't use the <priority> tags ...

    K
     
    KVeil, Jan 31, 2008 IP
  12. astup1didiot

    astup1didiot Notable Member

    Messages:
    5,927
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #52
    Priority, changefreq and modification date are all optional :)
     
    astup1didiot, Jan 31, 2008 IP
  13. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #53
    Yes, this is true - but why not give the web-crawlers hints about the priority and update frequency of our pages?

    K
     
    KVeil, Jan 31, 2008 IP
  14. rachel4u

    rachel4u Peon

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #54
    I wonder ... if my sitemap is not accurate , will it hurt my crawled efficiency ???
     
    rachel4u, Feb 1, 2008 IP
  15. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #55
    KVeil, Feb 1, 2008 IP
  16. astup1didiot

    astup1didiot Notable Member

    Messages:
    5,927
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #56
    I don't believe the Google really follows the optional tags unless used properly and accurately.
     
    astup1didiot, Feb 1, 2008 IP
  17. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #57
    KVeil, Feb 9, 2008 IP
  18. astup1didiot

    astup1didiot Notable Member

    Messages:
    5,927
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #58
    Excellent, those threads kept growing and growing :D
     
    astup1didiot, Feb 9, 2008 IP
  19. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #59
    Oops, was I too fast? I just re-checked my Google WMT Dashboard - and the errors are back :confused:

    Could this be a data center issue? Eg. am I getting my WMT Dashboard reports from different data centers - and some still show the errors? :eek:

    K
     
    KVeil, Feb 9, 2008 IP
  20. astup1didiot

    astup1didiot Notable Member

    Messages:
    5,927
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #60
    Your stilling getting errors?
     
    astup1didiot, Feb 11, 2008 IP