1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Google Sitemap Changes

Discussion in 'Google Sitemaps' started by aeiouy, Aug 29, 2005.

  1. #1
    Google changed up their sitemap set up a bit. For one they have a verification option where you but a blank file at the same spot as your site map and you can get statistics and feedback on any problems they have with their site map.

    Also gives you information about pages it found outside your site map and it had issues with as well.
    SEMrush
     
    aeiouy, Aug 29, 2005 IP
    frankm likes this.
    SEMrush
  2. toocoolforschool

    toocoolforschool Peon

    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Interesting, just noticed that after you mentioned it. What does that "Verify" link do, again?
     
    toocoolforschool, Aug 29, 2005 IP
  3. Interlogic

    Interlogic Peon

    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Once you place the right file on your server it will let you see a list of any errors google encounted while spidering your site (even pages that aren't in your sitemap)

    I have to say I think it's a great touch
     
    Interlogic, Aug 30, 2005 IP
  4. boohlick

    boohlick Banned

    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    22
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    I think i give it a try :)
     
    boohlick, Aug 30, 2005 IP
  5. Johnburk

    Johnburk Peon

    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    I noticed it too and gave it a try.

    It gives a HTTP Error with the following file.

    /%5Cindex.html

    But wat does %5C mean?
     
    Johnburk, Aug 30, 2005 IP
  6. Jan

    Jan Peon

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    %5C is a backslash - \ - in ASCII hex 5C - decimal 92.
     
    Jan, Aug 30, 2005 IP
  7. Johnburk

    Johnburk Peon

    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Thank you, How can I solve this? Because now it is /\index.html but I cannot see anywhere where this is located.
     
    Johnburk, Aug 30, 2005 IP
  8. webmistress

    webmistress Guest

    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Hey thanlks for the tip. Nice touch :)
     
    webmistress, Aug 30, 2005 IP
  9. jazzylee77

    jazzylee77 Peon

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    I gave this a try and got the message:
    I have custom 404 pages on most my sites. an example is...

    http://matchtales.com/html/welcome_to_match_tales.html

    I checked with the hosts chat help but don't neccessarily trust their answer that I can change something in the html of the page to show a 404 status. Anyone care to enlighten me?
     
    jazzylee77, Aug 30, 2005 IP
  10. aeiouy

    aeiouy Peon

    Messages:
    2,877
    Likes Received:
    275
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10

    Be good info to know..and I don't know. I don't see anything in the page source on legitimate 404 pages, so not sure. I will see if I can find out and drop a note, because I am curious too.

    Edit: I found this link, http://www.thesitewizard.com/archive/custom404.shtml but it does not seem to specifically mention anything that would make it a 404 versus anything else.

    Maybe it is the htaccess set up that does it.. But I am really clueless.
     
    aeiouy, Aug 30, 2005 IP
  11. jazzylee77

    jazzylee77 Peon

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    the more the merrier! I suspect those status codes are generated by the server and my friendly chat help dished me off. I'll try the next rung up the host suppport ladder a trouble ticket.
     
    jazzylee77, Aug 30, 2005 IP
  12. swd

    swd Guest

    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12

    I also got this error for one of my sites.

    If someone knows how to fix it .. it would be great.

    All the best,

    SWD
     
    swd, Aug 30, 2005 IP
  13. webmistress

    webmistress Guest

    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    Only your host can help you on this one :)
     
    webmistress, Aug 30, 2005 IP
  14. ikeys

    ikeys Peon

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    If you do the check google sends two probes to your server .. these are from my logs

    crawl-66-249-65-173.googlebot.com - - [30/Aug/2005:17:32:05 +0200] "HEAD /GOOGLE**********.html HTTP/1.1" 200 0 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Googlebot/2.1; +http://www.google.com/bot.html)"
    crawl-66-249-65-173.googlebot.com - - [30/Aug/2005:17:32:05 +0200] "HEAD /GOOGLE404probe*******.html HTTP/1.1" 404 0 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Googlebot/2.1; +http://www.google.com/bot.html)"

    For the first your server needs to return a 200 code ... a normal http page OK code
    The second your server needs to return a 404 PAGE NOT FOUND code
    it says ... /GOOGLE404probe***randomstuff***.html

    If you have custom 404 pages the second probe can go wrong and you will get that error if those custom 404s dont give a 404 http code

    these codes are in http headers, something not visible in a browser
    there are tools to check them like
    http:// www. seoconsultants .com /tools/headers.asp
     
    ikeys, Aug 30, 2005 IP
  15. ikeys

    ikeys Peon

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Just did the check with your site:

    SEO Consultants Directory Check Server Headers - Single URI Results
    Current Date and Time: 2005-08-30T17:53:58-0800
    #1 Server Response: http://www. matchtales .com/html/some_grabage_here_to_have_a_404
    HTTP Status Code: HTTP/1.1 200 OK
    Date: Wed, 31 Aug 2005 00:53:55 GMT
    Server: Apache/1.3.31 (Unix) PHP/4.3.11 mod_ssl/2.8.18 OpenSSL/0.9.6b FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 mod_throttle/3.1.2
    X-Powered-By: PHP/4.3.11
    Connection: close
    Content-Type: text/html

    HTTP Status Code: HTTP/1.1 200 OK
    Should have been
    HTTP Status Code: HTTP/1.1 404 Page not found
    at least for all requests starting with /GOOGLE404probe
     
    ikeys, Aug 30, 2005 IP
  16. ikeys

    ikeys Peon

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    just checked it ..
    In PHP it is done like this
    just add this in your passthru.php

    if(eregi('GOOGLE404probe',$_SERVER[REQUEST_URI])){
    header('HTTP/1.1 404 File not found');
    exit;
    }
     
    ikeys, Aug 30, 2005 IP
  17. markhutch

    markhutch Peon

    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    22
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    I noticed this new feature today, too. The error they gave me was a page not found when trying to access robots.txt file. I didn't have one up at that time, but maybe they want to to have one when using sitemaps.
     
    markhutch, Aug 30, 2005 IP
  18. battra

    battra Peon

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    I have the same problem with one of my site. I think mine is because Mambo handles all page requests. Not sure how to fix it :(
     
    battra, Aug 31, 2005 IP
  19. jazzylee77

    jazzylee77 Peon

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    Thanks, I'll give that a shot tonight if the host hasn't acted yet.
     
    jazzylee77, Aug 31, 2005 IP
  20. jazzylee77

    jazzylee77 Peon

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    Well I added the code the existing code like this

    <?php
    
    if (!function_exists('file_get_contents')) {
    function file_get_contents($url) {
    $handle = fopen($url, 'r');
    $string = fread($handle, 4096000);
    fclose($handle);
    return $string;
    }
    }
    
    include ('ad_network_222.php');
    echo preg_replace ("/<\/body>/i", '<br><div class="main" style="padding-left:12px; padding-right:12px">'. 
    
    $ad_network . '</body>', file_get_contents(str_replace ('../', '', $_REQUEST['file'])));
    if(eregi('GOOGLE404probe',$_SERVER[REQUEST_URI])){
    header('HTTP/1.1 404 File not found');
    exit;
    }
    ?>
    PHP:
    still get the error on verify from google. Host doesn't seem to understand.

    this is the hosts response.

    ...not really the issue I'm trying to address, but I've wondered before if there might be a fix for this one too.
     
    jazzylee77, Aug 31, 2005 IP