1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Google Search Traffic Dropped Off Significantly

Discussion in 'Search Engine Optimization' started by ebsports, Jul 28, 2017.

I don't have a huge site, but I generally get about 1,000 visitors a day from Google Search and its been that way for months on months. It's a bit of a hodgepodge of topics - like a Buzzfeed type site so I'm not stuck in one niche or anything in that regard.

Then today I log on and see that I have about 15 visitors.

I'm a bit of a novice but I did know enough to check to see if I had been removed from Google's searches (which I have not been) and checked everything in my Google Webmaster tools and all looks okay (sans one 302 redirect from a sitemap).

I'm completely confused as to what happened.

I mean I literally went to bed - all was fine. Wake up and there's no search activity.

Any help? I'm lost :(

ebsports, Jul 28, 2017 IP
  2. Agent000

Agent000 Prominent Member

Best Answers:
    Google make >500 tweaks to the algorithm every year and factor in new data (ie link metrics; updated PR; recalculated quality scores; etc) every day. Rankings can and do change every day.
    Without the URL, impossible to give an advice

Agent000, Jul 28, 2017 IP
    qwikad.com likes this.
  3. j a m i e

j a m i e Greenhorn

Best Answers:
    Seems to be the common trend this year.

I personally lost 30,000+ in traffic after switching from http to https in January. Google says "If you migrate your site from HTTP to HTTPS, Google treats this as a site move with a URL change. This can temporarily affect some of your traffic numbers." I'm still waiting 6 months later for the traffic to return.