1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Google search in external file...

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by NewComputer, Feb 8, 2005.

  1. #1
    Is there a way to place google's site search file so that when you are spidered that bloated code is not getting crawled through? I know this is a little 'anal' but...
     
    NewComputer, Feb 8, 2005 IP
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #2
    What site search file?
     
    digitalpoint, Feb 8, 2005 IP
  3. NewComputer

    NewComputer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,021
    Likes Received:
    68
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    188
    #3
    haha, thanks for making fun of me Shawn, I want to place the site search code in an external file, whether js or php...
     
    NewComputer, Feb 8, 2005 IP
  4. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #4
    You could do it in an external JavaScript file...

    Something simple like:

    document.write('site search HTML code here');
    Code (markup):
    Then just include that file in your normal html file like so:

    <script type="text/javascript"
    	src="search.js">
    </script>
    Code (markup):
     
    digitalpoint, Feb 8, 2005 IP
  5. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #5
    Good Question. Great Answer. Thanks Guys! :)
     
    ResaleBroker, Feb 8, 2005 IP
  6. NewComputer

    NewComputer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,021
    Likes Received:
    68
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    188
    #6
    Shawn,

    Are my .js skills that bad, is it not just a matter of putting the code in between the two ' ' and then calling the file search.js?

    I cannot get it to function...
     
    NewComputer, Feb 8, 2005 IP
  7. NewComputer

    NewComputer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,021
    Likes Received:
    68
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    188
    #7
    Can anyone update me on how this should work? I have the necessary code. Do I need to have a .php extension on the page?
     
    NewComputer, Feb 18, 2005 IP
  8. Smart Links

    Smart Links Peon

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    i'm not sure but if you find out please PM me.
     
    Smart Links, Feb 21, 2005 IP
  9. flawebworks

    flawebworks Tech Services

    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #9
    I would use a php include. something like: <?php virtual("oy.php"); ?>.

    A javascript will show in your page; but the php will not.
     
    flawebworks, Feb 21, 2005 IP