1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Google not getting beyond home page!!!

Discussion in 'Websites' started by GCSL_webpositioner, May 24, 2004.

  1. #1
    I've been trying to improve the search results for http://gcsl.org.uk

    The actual home page is http://gcsl.org.uk/index.php
    Question: Does having a PHP vs HTM/HTML page make a big difference to Google?

    I still don't seem to be having much luck getting anything beyond the first/home page to show up in google. I've also noticed this with another site I've recently developed - yet with an "older" site google very quickly showed links to all the pages.

    I'm using the following robots file:-

    User-agent: *
    Disallow: /cgi-bin/
    Disallow: /bulletins/
    Disallow: /development/
    Disallow: /sme_poll/
    Disallow: /warrior200404/

    Is this just a matter of time before google finally follows any links? Or is there another problem?

    Question: Am I right in thinking this? Or do I have a different problem. I'm not really sure how I can actually check whether only the home/first page is being indexed in Google ..... I can hardly find even the home page!!

    For example, when I search for "gcsl community forum", the site which comes out on top is this one!! (a previous thread I started asking for seo ideas).

    Thanks in advance for your help.
     
    GCSL_webpositioner, May 24, 2004 IP
  2. Bernard

    Bernard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    107
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    185
    #2
    In Google, you only have one result for site:gcsl.org.uk

    PHP does not hinder Google. Google only sees the HTML that is the end result anyway.
     
    Bernard, May 24, 2004 IP
  3. schlottke

    schlottke Peon

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Your robot file is fine but I'd suggest allowing all content be followed- unless some is paid content ofcourse.
     
    schlottke, May 24, 2004 IP
  4. SEbasic

    SEbasic Peon

    Messages:
    6,317
    Likes Received:
    318
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Try using a site map and getting some links to it...

    How old is the site?

    You have no PR even on your index page...

    That might be something to do with it.
     
    SEbasic, May 25, 2004 IP
  5. expat

    expat Stranger from a far land

    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Hi,

    I would introduce a sitemap and I'm not sure if the top navigation

    <span class="smallText">
    <a href="index.php">Home</a> |
    <a href="sigs.php">Special Interest Groups</a> |
    <a href="organisation.php">Organisation</a> |
    <a href="lmb.php">Local Management Board</a> |
    <a href="/bulletins/">Online Forum</a> |
    <a href="events.php">Diary</a> |
    <a href="contacts.php">Contacts</a> |
    <a href="links.php">Links</a>
    <br>
    <a href="javascript:history.back(1)">Go back to previous page</a>

    including a java script is such a good idea when starting a site.

    I alaways play save and have a real old fashioned navigation in the beginning once site is regularly visited it gets changed (or not).

    I also use strict sequence title desc keyw rest... and yes you do need some more links....

    M
     
    expat, May 25, 2004 IP
  6. TechEvangelist

    TechEvangelist Guest

    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    140
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    #6
    I've seen this happen a few times with new sites. You need to start building links to the site. I suspect that Google does not take a new site seriously until it finds a number of links to a site. When I see this, I immediately start building inbound links. There are a number of free and low-cost directories that you can start with.

    A site map will help, but won't do any good at all until Google finds the site map. Make sure you put a link on every page to the site map.

    By the way, links to your site from this forum do help, so if you intend to stay involved with this forum, add a signature to your postings with a link to the site.

    Craig
     
    TechEvangelist, May 25, 2004 IP
  7. expat

    expat Stranger from a far land

    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    also noted that both forms work www.xxx.com and xxx.com make sure in the beginning to either use one or the other form for link requests don't mix as it usualy takes G a couple of updates to assume that these are the same.

    M
     
    expat, May 25, 2004 IP
  8. compar

    compar Peon

    Messages:
    2,705
    Likes Received:
    169
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Do you realize that the "http://gcsl.org.uk" version of your URL will not load your web site? If this is what you are using in links to the site Google may never be finding it.

    Also I'd get rid of all those 'robot.txt' files. Just let Google do it's thing. The only reason to use these files is to exclude Google or other bots, not to invite them in.

    If you want to see what Google sees when trying to crawl you site try Sim Spider.
     
    compar, May 25, 2004 IP
  9. expat

    expat Stranger from a far land

    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    ...are you sure... both versions with and without www & / load perfectly well here in the UK.... both resolve to 209.51.158.234.....

    M
     
    expat, May 25, 2004 IP
  10. compar

    compar Peon

    Messages:
    2,705
    Likes Received:
    169
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Well the first time I tried it it didn't work. But it is working now. So ignore that part of my message.
     
    compar, May 25, 2004 IP
  11. catanich

    catanich Peon

    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    40
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    In Dallas, TX USA both pages show up with a PR2.

    I would recommend that you set up a Google Webmaster Tools account for this and start submitting a XML Site map. You do have many pages indexed and showing by Google. I would look very closely at the common use of the same <title> block and <description> With your design template, they may think this is duplicate content and drop it.
     
    catanich, Jul 23, 2008 IP
  12. Brandon Sheley

    Brandon Sheley Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    9,720
    Likes Received:
    611
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    420
    #12
    good advice, I wonder if the OP will come back to a 7year old thread... :rolleyes:
     
    Brandon Sheley, Jul 9, 2011 IP
  13. 7h3 Wh173 R4bb17

    7h3 Wh173 R4bb17 Peon

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    Definitely the way forward, my site has done loads better in SERPS since submitting it to Google via Webmaster Tools
     
    7h3 Wh173 R4bb17, Nov 18, 2011 IP