1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Google has changed how it handles navigational queries

Discussion in 'Google' started by mad4, Sep 1, 2006.

  1. #1
    Previously when you searched for www.domain.com on google it would bring up one result and then ask if you wanted to view more pages from this site, pages that link to the site, pages that contain "www.domain.com" and similar pages.

    Now when you search for www.domain.com it just returns all the results containing the term www.domain.com, the equivalent of searching for "www.domain.com".

    This appears to have happened in the last few days.

    Test here.
     
    mad4, Sep 1, 2006 IP
  2. Rasputin

    Rasputin Peon

    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Rasputin, Sep 1, 2006 IP
  3. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    You are right, I did look to see if anybody else had posted about it but didn't think it would be classed as a back link update! :)
     
    mad4, Sep 1, 2006 IP
  4. Cheap SEO Services

    Cheap SEO Services <------DoFollow Backlinks

    Messages:
    16,671
    Likes Received:
    1,317
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Yep...Google has made a huge change somewhere that affects us all. Hopefully they will fix it up soon. I can't afford such a huge drop. Considering I have worked very very hard on SEO and doing everything by the book. It's unexplainable. I have never seen such a dramatic drop in traffic like this before. My sites are not sandboxed. There is still traffic coming in. But so little compared to even last week!

    Col :eek:
     
    Cheap SEO Services, Sep 1, 2006 IP
  5. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    This thread has nothing to do with rankings, its a fundamental change in the way google handles navigational queries.

    When you searched for www.domain.com you used to get 1 result. Now you get thousands.
     
    mad4, Sep 1, 2006 IP
  6. RedCardinal

    RedCardinal Peon

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Farily large impications.

    It means competitor analysis will become more difficult, certianly WRT Google.

    Funny that Yahoo makes improvements to their operators while Google decide to limit their use.

    I have to wonder if the outcome of this will be to curtail the SEO of sites for Google? It's certainly going to make life somewhat more difficult.
     
    RedCardinal, Sep 1, 2006 IP
  7. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    It means that you could stick a competitors url in your site title tag and rank next to them for navigational queries. Something that has NEVER been possible before.
     
    mad4, Sep 1, 2006 IP
  8. NetMidWest

    NetMidWest Peon

    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    151
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    NetMidWest, Sep 1, 2006 IP
  9. deadmoon

    deadmoon Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    19
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #9
    This is quite interesting news.
     
    deadmoon, Sep 1, 2006 IP
  10. Jobs.com.sg

    Jobs.com.sg Peon

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    No wonder I have been getting strange results !
     
    Jobs.com.sg, Sep 1, 2006 IP
  11. deadmoon

    deadmoon Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    19
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #11
    strange results as in when you've been searching? or hits to your site from googles "new results"?
     
    deadmoon, Sep 1, 2006 IP
  12. Double_Spyder

    Double_Spyder Guest

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    That is soo evil. If only navigational queries yielded quality traffic...
     
    Double_Spyder, Sep 1, 2006 IP
  13. dcristo

    dcristo Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    18,116
    Likes Received:
    895
    Best Answers:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    420
    #13
    Previously, it was very easy to determine if a page was in Google's cache, just by entering the specific URL in the search bar. If it was cached the URL would show in the SERP's. Not so anymore though. Has anyone else experienced this? You now have to use a normal cache: query to determine if the page really is cached in the index.
     
    dcristo, Sep 5, 2006 IP
  14. tflight

    tflight Peon

    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    38
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    I noticed it as well. I didn't know if it was a temporary glitch or something more significant.
     
    tflight, Sep 5, 2006 IP
  15. ascensions

    ascensions Active Member

    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #15
    It's because those google employees smoke to much mota out behind the server racks when they should be pressing the big red button.
     
    ascensions, Sep 5, 2006 IP
  16. CrankyDave

    CrankyDave Peon

    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    Yes I noticed it...

    http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=134757

    Whether or not this is temporary or not is anyone's guess right now.

    The results you get now are the same as you would have got (and still get) by searching the domain in quotes prior to the change.

    You can also use the site: operator to determine if a site is in the index.

    Dave
     
    CrankyDave, Sep 5, 2006 IP
  17. NetMidWest

    NetMidWest Peon

    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    151
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    info:www.yourdomain.tld
    
    Code (markup):
    will give you the old results, with links for cache, similar, links, site, term. :)
     
    NetMidWest, Sep 8, 2006 IP
  18. CrankyDave

    CrankyDave Peon

    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    Thank you!

    Dave
     
    CrankyDave, Sep 8, 2006 IP
  19. Dr Googler

    Dr Googler Banned

    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    thanks for the info, mate :)
     
    Dr Googler, Nov 18, 2008 IP
  20. camp185

    camp185 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #20
    There is definitely something strange going on with that. I have one domain, that when searched for in toolbar, brings you directly to the site as the result. When searching for it from Google's home page it gives me all of the results. Then I have another domain, that when searched for in the toolbar gives you all of its results.
     
    camp185, Nov 18, 2008 IP