1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Google DNS Settings

Discussion in 'Google' started by farhajr, Aug 17, 2020.

  1. #1
    I want to get Google DNS settings entered to my network.
    But, when I enter the Google DNS 8.8.8.8 and see the network also the ISPs DNS also comes alongs with it.. Why is that...?
    Does Google also requires Local ISP DNS as well along with it or how..?

    here is the image below:

    upload_2020-8-17_15-53-2.png

    Can you tell me how to eneter the Google DNS without getting the LOcal ISP DNS along with it..?

    Regards
     
    farhajr, Aug 17, 2020 IP
  2. RHS-Chris

    RHS-Chris Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    35
    Best Answers:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    150
    #2
    Where are you entering the DNS server settings? The answer should be that you can utilize Google's servers without needing local.

    Regards,
    Chris
     
    RHS-Chris, Aug 19, 2020 IP
  3. farhajr

    farhajr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,105
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    130
    #3
    I am entering it in the network adapters in control panel in win7..
    And, I did not add Local to it..
    and i see that now, when I enter Opera or Chrome, their is no local in it.. but, In Firefox it shows the local dns along.. How come it shows when i have not entered it in the network settings..
     
    farhajr, Aug 20, 2020 IP
  4. verocloud

    verocloud Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    25
    #4
    If you have access to your router, you can enter DNS servers there.
     
    verocloud, Aug 20, 2020 IP
  5. SNTJJ

    SNTJJ Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    95
    #5
    In Linux you can easily set the DNS in /etc/resolv.conf. In Windows you would need to edit the networking interface to manually define the DNS server. At this level, it should not include the DNS of your ISP.

    https://www.windowscentral.com/how-change-your-pcs-dns-settings-windows-10

    Details about preventing DNS leak can be found in the following article:

    https://www.thewindowsclub.com/what-is-dns-leak#:~:text=The%20most%20common%20cause%20of,most%20vulnerable%20to%20DNS%20leaks.
     
    SNTJJ, Aug 21, 2020 IP
  6. farhajr

    farhajr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,105
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    130
    #6
    can

    1) I Don't have windows 10.. can you tell for windows 7...

    2) And I chenged the settings in the control panel..
    but I still, don't get how come it shows 3 differnet DNS and its details for the 3 different browsers as shown below in the images..

    This is from CHrome Results..

    [​IMG]
    a) FROM CHROME (On TOP)...


    b) FROM OPERA ( BELOW):

    [​IMG]
    b) FROM OPERA (On TOP)...

    c) FROM FIREFOX ( BELOW):

    [​IMG]
    c) FROM FIREFOX, (TOP)


    3) You See, Why does FIrefox shows different from the other 2 .. THough I cleared Cache and eevrything along with it too..

    Can you answer all my points above..
     
    farhajr, Aug 22, 2020 IP
  7. verocloud

    verocloud Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    25
    #7
    Just open command prompt in Win 7 and type "ipconfig /all" or "nslookup" and it will show DNS you are using.
     
    verocloud, Aug 24, 2020 IP
  8. SNTJJ

    SNTJJ Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    95
    #8
    If you want to protect your privacy it may be an option to add dedicated privacy hardware, for example a firewall or Linux device that tunnels DNS over encrypted SSH and TOR, or using a ready-made product such as InvizBox.

    https://www.invizbox.com/

    A custom Linux device may provide the best result. You could easily use a software firewall to simply block any outgoing DNS other than a certain IP, or by allowing only DNS over TOR (encrypted). It would provide high reliability at low cost (a used Raspberry PI may cost $10, a new one costs $40).

    https://www.instructables.com/id/Raspberry-Pi4-Firewall/
     
    SNTJJ, Aug 24, 2020 IP
  9. farhajr

    farhajr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,105
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    130
    #9
    I have windows 7, so what do you suggest for that to do and..
    do u know how I can use Google CLoud DNS or AMAzon Cloud DNS in my network settings.. can one get those for free.. ANd are they better than any other ones..
     
    farhajr, Sep 5, 2020 IP