1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Google Analytics - Is It Worth It?

Discussion in 'Google Analytics' started by Surf_Dude, Apr 5, 2006.

  1. #1
    I just received a sign-up code for Google Analytics.
    Then I found out that it is necessary to copy and paste the code to EVERY single page you want to use it on, just like AdSense.

    I am currently using 2 other web analysis programs, AW and analog.
    Is Google Analytics so much better that I should spend the time to add it to every page, by hand? What am I going to get that I am not getting now? Plus, I have read about various problems with availability and accuracy.
    SEMrush
    Is it worth it?
    Thanks for your time.
     
    Surf_Dude, Apr 5, 2006 IP
    SEMrush
  2. forumbulge

    forumbulge Guest

    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    I like it.
    Its alot more detailed than any other stats program in my opinion.
     
    forumbulge, Apr 5, 2006 IP
  3. morzaban

    morzaban Guest

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    I received it too. It's excellent!
     
    morzaban, Apr 5, 2006 IP
  4. just-4-teens

    just-4-teens Peon

    Messages:
    3,968
    Likes Received:
    168
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    ive used it for 2 days and already scrapped cpanels awstats :)
     
    just-4-teens, Apr 5, 2006 IP
  5. Shadow

    Shadow Peon

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Well, I'm no expert, got the invitation 2 days ago, but I guess I'm going to add my 2c...

    Google Analytics
    - shows "www.domain.com" as referrer
    - shows "/index.php" as referrer
    - doesn't show "/index.php?id=23&whatever=342" as referrer
    - doesn't show visitor IPs AFAIK

    If you don't care about those: Analytics is great compared to some other free stats sites I have been using in the past. Definitely worth it.
     
    Shadow, Apr 6, 2006 IP
  6. TwisterMc

    TwisterMc Mac Guru

    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    /index.php?id=23&whatever=342 is probably listed under /index.php as a referrer. You need to click on the little down circle arrow thing I think, then expand the last option then select variables or something like that.

    Kind of confusing, but it's there.
     
    TwisterMc, Apr 6, 2006 IP
  7. Shadow

    Shadow Peon

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Nope, not there :(

    forums.digitalpoint.com[referral] > arrow > /showthread.php > no arrow ;)
     
    Shadow, Apr 6, 2006 IP
  8. TwisterMc

    TwisterMc Mac Guru

    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Works for Google, but not for Digital Point. But I'm sure it's there somehwere. It's so big that finding info is hard sometimes. ;)
     
    TwisterMc, Apr 6, 2006 IP
  9. Surf_Dude

    Surf_Dude Peon

    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    62
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Thanks, everyone.
    The vote is in.
    I am trying it now.
     
    Surf_Dude, Apr 8, 2006 IP