1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Getting Rid Of Public Service Ads

Discussion in 'Placement / Reviews / Examples' started by manov, Mar 2, 2006.

  1. #1
    I know that there are some "Alternative Ad service" providers who will replace PSA with different ads.

    I wanted to know best one.
    SEMrush
    Any ideas or suggestion?

    Thanks :)
    Mahesh
     
    manov, Mar 2, 2006 IP
    SEMrush
  2. jackburton2006

    jackburton2006 Peon

    Messages:
    5,296
    Likes Received:
    282
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    If you're signed up with a CPM ad network, use those. The best? Whichever pays you the most. :)
     
    jackburton2006, Mar 2, 2006 IP
    SFOD_D223 likes this.
  3. Mister Tut

    Mister Tut Guest

    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    42
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    If you are really having a problem with it, use YPN. The relevancy won't be great, perhaps, but they don't have PSAs.
     
    Mister Tut, Mar 2, 2006 IP
  4. Jarodboy

    Jarodboy Prominent Member

    Messages:
    7,235
    Likes Received:
    405
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    330
    #4
    Can't you write more content so that you get rid of the PSA's?
     
    Jarodboy, Mar 2, 2006 IP
  5. Homer

    Homer Spirit Walker

    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    150
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    I have seen this before. I moved the ad to a more content rich position on the page and it worked. Why don't you try moving it to the top of the page.


    Good luck!
     
    Homer, Mar 2, 2006 IP
  6. manov

    manov Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #6
    Hi,

    I'm using content management script to run my sites. So the ads will appear on every page I create. It's pain to add adsense page to every pages since my sites are heavy content rich. My adsense code is inserted into my site template file. Usually it takes upto 24 hours to get my pages properly crawled and indexed. That's why Google shows PS ads.

    I'm non-USA. So YNN is not yet available to me :(

    Thanks for your suggestions
    Mahesh
     
    manov, Mar 2, 2006 IP
  7. Homer

    Homer Spirit Walker

    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    150
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    If there is any template or footprint this software uses, it is possibly an issue also.
     
    Homer, Mar 2, 2006 IP
  8. jazzylee77

    jazzylee77 Peon

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    As far as the reducing the psa's go....what script are you using? Can we see the site? More clues please.
     
    jazzylee77, Mar 2, 2006 IP
  9. jazzylee77

    jazzylee77 Peon

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    and you can serve whatever alternate ads you want designating the url in the adsense setup. If you want just one alternate ad, stick it on a page by itself and go get new adsense code, checking the Show ads from another URL. You will want to use ads the same size or smaller as the adsense ads you are using. There are simple php solutions to rotate alternate ads at the url if you like.
     
    jazzylee77, Mar 2, 2006 IP
    SFOD_D223 likes this.
  10. bubblejet

    bubblejet Active Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #10
    I recall reading somewhere that allfeeds.com was a good choice for alternate url in google adsense. I've searched these forums, the posts aren't so positive but they are a little bit aged. Has anyone here had a recent experience employing their ads as alternate url?
     
    bubblejet, Mar 3, 2006 IP
  11. mariush

    mariush Peon

    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    44
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    I've found a simple solution for removing the public service announcements.

    I've created a MySQL table that contains advertising code snippets from Amazon, along with information such as ad size, type and so on.

    I've created a PHP file on a folder that for a specific banner size, counts the available advertising codes in the MySQL table and randomly selects one, then outputs the code.

    I've changed the Adsense Ads (from the Adsense For Content tab in the account) and set the fallback url to the url of the php file.

    When there are no ads to show, Google uses the php file and the Amazon ads appear on my site. You can of course add other ad providers, for me Amazon was the easiest.
     
    mariush, Mar 3, 2006 IP
    Mister Tut likes this.
  12. SFOD_D223

    SFOD_D223 Peon

    Messages:
    4,514
    Likes Received:
    174
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    wow...thanks for the insite..Man I can't wait to get these training wheels off..
     
    SFOD_D223, Mar 3, 2006 IP
  13. Dejavu

    Dejavu Peon

    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    53
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    I also had the problem with PSA's, on some sites Amazon and similar programs just dont work at all.
    So I decided to simply show my visitors links to my other sites..
    In the end I created a sort of banner exchange, but specifically for adsense alternate ads.
    You can check it out here.
     
    Dejavu, Mar 4, 2006 IP
  14. 2WIRE

    2WIRE Guest

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    This page ranked high in a google search, I just did a search of public service ads adsense. I am also having similar issues. I think Google might have triggered the page as sensitive content. How long til they recrawl?
     
    2WIRE, Mar 5, 2006 IP