1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

geotargetting with ASP?

Discussion in 'C#' started by sji2671, Apr 3, 2006.

  1. #1
    Does anyone know of a script that can do geotargetting with ASP?

    I want a page to show a banner on it if the visitor is from the USA or else just show the normal page.

    Did a google/hotscripts and can't seem to find anything :confused:
    Or does anyone know of a 3rd party service that can handle the custom banner on a page that way.
    SEMrush
     
    sji2671, Apr 3, 2006 IP
    SEMrush
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #2
    The language you are using really isn't the important part... you can do it with any language, but you need a geotargetting database first.
     
    digitalpoint, Apr 3, 2006 IP
  3. sji2671

    sji2671 Self Made Mind

    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    144
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #3
    Yeah I see what you are saying, the site is on a windows box and Access or MS SQL could be used for the DB but not mysql.
     
    sji2671, Apr 3, 2006 IP
  4. Sarangan

    Sarangan Active Member

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #4
    Why not try a php script insted...
    Check this free php script that can do what you need:
    http://phpadsnew.com/

    They have a geo database..
     
    Sarangan, Apr 3, 2006 IP
  5. sji2671

    sji2671 Self Made Mind

    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    144
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #5
    As stated I cannot use mysql with this page, preferably an access DB.
     
    sji2671, Apr 3, 2006 IP
  6. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #6
    Usually the company you get the database from will give you sample scripts to use it with (including ASP).
     
    digitalpoint, Apr 3, 2006 IP
  7. jaymcc

    jaymcc Peon

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    We played with this a little on our site, the best we could come up with was some javascript that was provided by (i can't remember who anymore).

    You could use this to get some information from the client then adapt your banner to read this variable to do something with it. It needs a little work, however gets around having to have a database.

    <script language="Javascript" src="http://map.geoup.com/geoup?template=CountryName"></script>
    Code (markup):
    The above gets the region for the browser and writes it out. You can also use:
    <script language="Javascript" src="http://map.geoup.com/geoup?template=CityName">
    
    <script language="Javascript" src="http://map.geoup.com/geoup?template=RegionName">
    Code (markup):
    Good luck!

    J
     
    jaymcc, Apr 3, 2006 IP
  8. roxy

    roxy Active Member

    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #8
    roxy, Apr 4, 2006 IP
  9. BurgerKing

    BurgerKing Active Member

    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #9
    BurgerKing, Apr 23, 2006 IP