1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Game Inventory Database Design.

Discussion in 'MySQL' started by alanchavezv, Feb 17, 2012.

Hey pals,
    This is my first time I've ever been in a forum this big.
    I tried to search for a similar topic, to see if a similar question has been asked before, but didn't have any luck.

The thing is that I'm developing a video game (just for the sake of learning) and I am designing the database for the game inventory, but I have no idea what's an efficient way to keep track of what items own each user.

I have a table full of items, let's say:

id, item
    1, sword
    2, shield
    3, red potion
    4, blue potion
    5, green potion
    6, bow
    7, slingshot

and the table for each user's character.

id, username
    1, john1
    2, john2
    3, john3
    4, john4
    5, john5
    6, john6

So I thought that I could create another table called inventory more or less like:
    user_id, item_id, quantity
    1, 1, 1 // john1 has 1 sword
    1, 3, 2 // john1 has 2 red potions
    2, 2, 1 // john2 has 1 shield
    2, 6, 1 // john2 has 1 bow

but that will have a bunch a repeated records and will have a huge impact on performance as the number of users grow large, besides it goes against the rules of normalization.

Then I thought that the user table, may have a column called 'inventory' and all the item IDs separated by commas, and treat them as a CSV, but then I face the problem on how to keep track of the amount of items each user has.

id, username, inventory
    1, john1, (1,2,3,5)
    2, john2, (2,1,3)
    3, john3, (4,2)