1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Forum Spam - How Do You Deal With It?

Discussion in 'Forum Management' started by howinfo, Apr 4, 2010.

Our forum is new, about six months or so old and we have not run a forum before so I am new to managing forums.

The biggest problem our forum is facing is spam, I do not know how all the spammers in the world have found us but they have. So my question is: How do I stop them? I know that realistically I can not stop them but there must be some ways to eliminate forum spam.

So far I have been banning all the spam IP addresses. It seems to have NO effect what so ever so I have stopped banning IP addresses.

I did also ban lot of emails that where exclusively used for spamming purposes but they all just switched to Goole mail, yahoo, msn and so on so I have stopped doing that as well.

I am just wondering how other forum owners deal wit the spam issue. Do you actually ban the spammers or you just delete them. Do you Google each and every email aadress and IP address or you just delete or ban them if email looks really strange.

What measures I should take to eliminate forum spam?

howinfo, Apr 4, 2010 IP
  2. d3wlin

d3wlin Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    You need to stop bots from registration. I recommend you to try reCaptcha instead of vB's default image verification, or question and answer verification. It's a great idea to try them both.

On HealthForums.org I have reCaptcha enabled and it's doing pretty good, although the forum is near one month old.

There will always be a portion of spam, but you can reduce it to minimum.

d3wlin, Apr 5, 2010 IP
  3. JT706

JT706 Peon

Best Answers:
    You can also get more moderators to delete posts.