1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Firefox Is Turning Gay!!!

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by BOOMBOOM, Apr 25, 2009.

  1. rochow

    rochow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,991
    Likes Received:
    245
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    190
    #61
    As suddenly as it broke, it started working again. Must have been a bug in one of the releases that was fixed.
    SEMrush
     
    rochow, May 8, 2009 IP
    SEMrush
  2. !nfamous

    !nfamous Banned

    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #62
    Having the best browser means updates.
     
    !nfamous, May 8, 2009 IP
  3. goldenbrowngod

    goldenbrowngod Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    #63
    How is Firefox turning gay?

    is it attract to browsers of the same sex?

    I didn't even know browsers had gender.
     
    goldenbrowngod, May 8, 2009 IP
  4. Dillmando

    Dillmando Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    Digital Goods:
    2
    #64
    There is no browser that comes anywhere close to FF

    I would not be able to live without: AD block plus, yeah thats right I dont see any ads. All-in-one gestures, Fireftp, google preview, and a lot more.
     
    Dillmando, May 8, 2009 IP
  5. Stomme poes

    Stomme poes Peon

    Messages:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    136
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #65
    K-Meleon with Gecko version 1.8.1.21 has been released, they say with some bug fixes. Note that FF3 uses Gecko 1.9 and so I'm assuming that, other than whatever bug fixes have been added, the K-Meleon still renders like FF2 did. This isn't bad-- it's easier for FF2 testing to have a copy of K-Meleon than to try to have two firefoxes with different profiles. Every time a Mozilla update comes along it's hard to stop it from trying to override your older version. At least, I couldn't keep FF2 on my machine very long before it vanished.

    http://kmeleon.sourceforge.net/
     
    Stomme poes, May 11, 2009 IP
  6. nunuaza

    nunuaza Peon

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #66
    i appriciate with FF. no one has complete fitur like FF
     
    nunuaza, May 12, 2009 IP
  7. 0500559543

    0500559543 Active Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    #67
    Firefox and Chrome is my favs browser :)
     
    0500559543, May 12, 2009 IP
  8. narci

    narci Peon

    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    188
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #68
    You cant say firefox is a Gay, I say IE is a GAY! Its always crashes for me...
     
    narci, May 12, 2009 IP
  9. gummyworms

    gummyworms Active Member

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #69
    Firefox has the memory leaks problem when i am watching multiple flash movies and tv shows. If I have a playlist of a tv series each consisting of 10 mb of memory. By episode 10 my firefox memory in the processors will go up 100 mb. By Episode 20 it goes up to 200mb and every other firefox becomes slow and then crash.
     
    gummyworms, May 12, 2009 IP
  10. bpled

    bpled Guest

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #70
    Turn it off at: about:config ;)
     
    bpled, May 12, 2009 IP
  11. drhowarddrfine

    drhowarddrfine Peon

    Messages:
    5,428
    Likes Received:
    94
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #71
    There are no memory leak issues in Firefox that you would ever be aware of since version 2. This is now a myth promulgated by the unaware.
    Using more memory is by design. It's filling the cache as it should! And multiple shows are loaded and you wonder why it slows down?!

    If it's crashing, it's your system's fault, not FF. Fix your system and quit blaming FF.
     
    drhowarddrfine, May 12, 2009 IP
  12. Claudek

    Claudek Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    81
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    #72
    I have seen a few threads about memory leaks since ff v2. A few results in Google as well - http://www.google.com/search?q="fir...=off&client=opera&rls=en&hs=MRZ&start=10&sa=N

    This is not a myth and you should be quite aware of that being a FF user.

    To balance things out however, there is an optimised version of FF you can get now which does seem to have fixed any memory leak issues.

     
    Claudek, May 12, 2009 IP
  13. gummyworms

    gummyworms Active Member

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #73
    About:config did it so many times, no luck. Like I said I used a playlist of 10 to 20 episodes not loading all of them simultaneously. Under normal conditions, after the ending of one episode, the memory usage should drop back to normal because the same screen playing episode is refreshed to load episode 2, but it never does. The memory usage only goes up when it loads the next episode and so on.

    I have been using opera for all my flash videos, and it's been better.
     
    gummyworms, May 12, 2009 IP
  14. drhowarddrfine

    drhowarddrfine Peon

    Messages:
    5,428
    Likes Received:
    94
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #74
    Google for "internet explorer memory leaks" and you'll see there are 3x more threads than the Firefox has.
    Myth. At least leaks you will never be aware of as a user.
     
    drhowarddrfine, May 12, 2009 IP
  15. drhowarddrfine

    drhowarddrfine Peon

    Messages:
    5,428
    Likes Received:
    94
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #75
    In about:config, search for 'prefetch'. Is this true or false? Set to false.
     
    drhowarddrfine, May 12, 2009 IP
  16. .htaccess

    .htaccess Peon

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    40
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #76
    Firefox people are updating version in just 2-3 days !!
    its seriously headache :(
     
    .htaccess, May 12, 2009 IP
  17. spy2furious

    spy2furious Peon

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #77
    I never had an update problem with firefox/

    but I ever had problem with firefox, it's exit byself when i view source of web, that time i think it's because addon compatibility, soo i reinstall the addon (HTMLtidy validator), but it's did change anything. Soo i reinstall the firefox (soo sad, i lost all my bookmark). It's solve the problem, but just a few day's, it's error again and again.

    But lately i know the problem is not in firefox, but's it's because some virus.

    Soo, i think firefox is the best browser ever.
     
    spy2furious, May 12, 2009 IP
  18. rochow

    rochow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,991
    Likes Received:
    245
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    190
    #78
    So it's not a leak, Firefox is just a bloated resource hog? Often Firefox is 500,000K of memory usage, meanwhile I've never seen Opera crack 100,000 even with a ton more tabs open. When I have 20 things going and want to free up some RAM first thing that goes is FF. Photoshop & games I can understand using 500,000K, given they're doing a lot of complex rendering, but a simple browser... that's just ridiculous. There is no justification for having 5 times the memory usage of other browsers that do the exact same thing. This isn't a new thing, it has ALWAYS been rubbish in that department.
     
    rochow, May 12, 2009 IP
  19. drhowarddrfine

    drhowarddrfine Peon

    Messages:
    5,428
    Likes Received:
    94
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #79
    **sigh**
    500 Mb? Must be a Windows thing because none of the *nix computers I run go over about 180Mb. Maybe we need to look at Windows being the culprit and not FF.

    So you think the browser is not doing complex rendering? How about prefetching links that might contain a lot of graphics and you can access them faster? How about caching all those pages so you can re-access them faster? How about the ability to modify and customize just about everything in the browser, from the UI to desktop apps and other things coming up soon, which no other can do? Do you know all the things browsers do besides just displaying the current page?

    Sure, if you want a browser that runs fast but doesn't do much of anything else, there are lots of them out there and they are good to use but if you want the most flexibility and customizability, there aren't any that can touch FF.
     
    drhowarddrfine, May 12, 2009 IP
  20. RobsHosting.co.uk

    RobsHosting.co.uk Peon

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #80
    Firefox pwns, i heard google chrome is good, but apparently it doesnt support java, etc...umm i wounder. All I know is that I dont like IE :p
     
    RobsHosting.co.uk, May 12, 2009 IP