1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Firefox div display problem

Discussion in 'CSS' started by Dan, Oct 11, 2005.

  1. #1
    Hi,

    I'm having a problem getting nested divs to display properly in firefox, although they display fine in IE, and oddly enough if you refresh the page in Firefox it will then display ok too??

    The issue arises when I try to embed a div within another div; the outer div doesn't seem to recognise the content of the inner div correctly and sizes itself too small.

    I've tried putting a clearing div after the inner div as follows, but it's not helping

    <Div>
    <Div>
    <p>.........
    <p>.........
    <p>.........
    </Div>
    <Div style="width:1px; height:1px; clear:both;">
    <img src="../Images/t.gif" border=0 width=1 height=1>
    </Div>
    </Div>

    You can see the problem in action if you go to h**p://www.web-niche.com/link_exchange.asp and click on the 'Exchange Links ...' button.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
    SEMrush
    Dan
     
    Dan, Oct 11, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. mjewel

    mjewel Prominent Member

    Messages:
    6,693
    Likes Received:
    514
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #2
    I don't see the problem using firefox or ie6. Are you sure it isn't loading from cache? ctl + f5.
     
    mjewel, Oct 11, 2005 IP
  3. king_cobra

    king_cobra Peon

    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    cannot see a problem here. isnt this an advertisement for ur site, Dan? very bad idea. if u had said IE has a problem and firefox was showing itfine then it wud have been more realisitic. :(
     
    king_cobra, Oct 11, 2005 IP
  4. Uban

    Uban Peon

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    So did you notice this after your page rank of 4? Doesn't ranking like that take a little time to acquire? :)
     
    Uban, Oct 11, 2005 IP
  5. ViciousSummer

    ViciousSummer Ayn Rand for President! Staff

    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    526
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    308
    #5
    I don't see any "problems" when viewed from Safari. What exactly is the problem that you are experiancing that no one else can see?
     
    ViciousSummer, Oct 11, 2005 IP
  6. Dan

    Dan Active Member

    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #6
    Honestly... What a bunch of cynics!

    Trying to advertise a link exchange page in a CSS forum wouldn't be the most efficient use of my time, and yes, the site has been up for a while Uban, but the exchange form is new.

    Anyway, to satisfy even the most sceptical, I've edited my original post to ensure that I don't receive any benefit from the hyperlink post.

    I'm confused that you all can't see the issue; it's the page that appears after you hit the button that I'm talking about (Process_LinkExchange.asp). In IE it displays fine, but in Fifefox it's truncated halfway through the text in the centre panel and you can't see the 'Next ...' button?

    If anyone still can't see it please pm me your email address and I'll send you a screen shot.
     
    Dan, Oct 12, 2005 IP
  7. mjewel

    mjewel Prominent Member

    Messages:
    6,693
    Likes Received:
    514
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #7
    I took a look at that page also- it looks no different in ie6 than firefox. You can see the next button just fine.
     
    mjewel, Oct 12, 2005 IP
  8. Dan

    Dan Active Member

    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #8
    Sorted... The parent div wasn't floated so it wasn't encapsulating the child floated div fully.
     
    Dan, Oct 16, 2005 IP
  9. jamelusp

    jamelusp Peon

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Hi,
    I am new to this forum, i have this website http://www.seminarygym.com it has divs and in IE works fine but in firefox is not coming up well, cant figure out the problem, i was assuming that the padding of the css or some aligning is wrong, any help pls is greatly appriciated!

    thanks
     
    jamelusp, Sep 6, 2007 IP
  10. jamesicus

    jamesicus Peon

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    You are not using a Doctype -- Firefox, being standards compliant, is rendering your page in Quirks mode.
     
    jamesicus, Sep 6, 2007 IP
  11. jamelusp

    jamelusp Peon

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN" >

    i am using the transitional however i tried to use the strict but still useless...
     
    jamelusp, Sep 6, 2007 IP
  12. jamesicus

    jamesicus Peon

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    I cannot find a Doctype declaration in the header of your page so you can't validate the Markup. Don't use the Doctype you list above -- HTML 4.0 has long been obsolete. You also should not use a Transitional DTD for they contain deprecated elements that can cause incompatabilities. Use:

    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN"
    "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
     
    jamesicus, Sep 6, 2007 IP
  13. jamelusp

    jamelusp Peon

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    when i used the one u wrote down the page did come wider then it is now (the content only) but still it didnt fix it!
     
    jamelusp, Sep 6, 2007 IP
  14. jamesicus

    jamesicus Peon

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    But you are still not using the Doctype at the head of your page -- can't Validate the Markup to see if it is causing problems without it. You must be just using it locally and checking the Markup/output in your test Browsers -- load it up to your server so we can check it out.
     
    jamesicus, Sep 6, 2007 IP
  15. jamesicus

    jamesicus Peon

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Your page rendering breaks badly in cell phone/Iphone/PDA Web page screen mode (more and more people are viewing Web pages in them these days).

    You can emulate Cell phone screen viewing in Firefox via the top pull-down menu: Web Developer--Miscellaneous--Small Screen Rendering (easier yet via the Chuck Pederick Developer toolbar if you have it installed). The same facility is available in Opera -- another excellent developer tool -- via Small screen (toggle) from View on the top tool bar.
     
    jamesicus, Sep 6, 2007 IP
  16. jamelusp

    jamelusp Peon

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    http://www.seminarygym.com/default2.aspx
    did this test page here, have a look pls
    thanks
     
    jamelusp, Sep 6, 2007 IP
  17. jamesicus

    jamesicus Peon

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    Actually that didn't help, that page has huge problems -- it is written in incorrect XHTML syntax -- for instance, uppercase tags are used (not permitted). I couldn't validate the Markup -- the W3C Validator timed out and the WDG Validator recorded: The maximum number of errors was reached. Further errors in the document have not been reported..

    Affix the 4.01 Strict Doctype at the top of web-niche page and check/correct the Markup:

    W3C Markup (HTML/XHTML) Validation Service
    W3C Style Sheet (CSS) Validation Service
     
    jamesicus, Sep 6, 2007 IP
  18. jamelusp

    jamelusp Peon

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    oh my god...i ll have a look thanks anyway...donno what to do then lol
     
    jamelusp, Sep 6, 2007 IP