1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Finally done after four long years.

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by mopacfan, Oct 5, 2004.

I thought I'd share this with yous guys. :) I've been building this truck for roughly four years and it's finally done. Well almost, but done enough to make it official. It's called Project Responder, it's the Ultimate Volunteer Firefighter's Emergency Response Vehicle. The website has been nearly as much work as the truck. It started out as a static creation, adding new pages everytime I needed to make an update. After reaching about 50 pages, it got way to hard to manage. So I wrote a database application to serve the content but there was no back end so administration was still a pain, going into the database directly to administer the site. Finally, I ended up writing the backend so I could add content on the fly, including the image uploads and resizing. The site is still far behind and needs a lot of updates and a new layout (I try to change the layout once a year).

If you have any comments about the truck or about the site, good, bad or indifferent, please feel free to 'let it all hang out'. :)

Attached Files:

mopacfan, Oct 5, 2004 IP
  2. Nitin M

Nitin M White/Gray/Black Hat

Best Answers:
    The truck kicks a**!

Though, I think there is still a 4"x4" patch blue on the top right of the rear tire well that still needs to be covered up ... shall a send over some more decals? ;)

Nitin M, Oct 5, 2004 IP
  3. chachi

chachi The other Jason

Best Answers:
    that is a crazy rig. Nice work. You have to be one "dedicated" volunteer to spend that kind of time and money on a volunteer fire rig. The truck looks great.

chachi, Oct 5, 2004 IP
  4. mopacfan