1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Filtering out low paying ads

Discussion in 'AdSense' started by ColinR, Nov 30, 2004.

  1. #1
    Have been running Adsense for a while now and seeing clicks paying anything from .03 cents to my highest at $2.71. Is there a secret out there on how to filter the low paying ones or how can you even track them?

    Basically want to optimize my click amounts and would like some ideas on how best to find those "higher" paying clicks vs the lower ones?
    SEMrush
    What is the caramilk secret to this?

    Thanks.
     
    ColinR, Nov 30, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. kusadasi-guy

    kusadasi-guy Peon

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    i think you should allow 2 ads block, or just 125*125 button banner
     
    kusadasi-guy, Nov 30, 2004 IP
  3. ColinR

    ColinR Guest

    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3

    Thanks I'll try that on some of my other sites and see how it goes.
     
    ColinR, Nov 30, 2004 IP
  4. melfan

    melfan Peon

    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Yes try using ad block that has less ads. The more ad blocks the more low paying keyword will show on other blocks the more chances it to be click.
     
    melfan, Nov 30, 2004 IP
  5. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #5
    The problem with blocking the low paying ads is Google's ad rotation technology is pretty good. A big part of which ad displays is based on how much it pays. Another big part is the CTR on it. For example, if an ad pays $5 per click, but only gets a 1% CTR, an ad that pays $1 per click, but has a CTR of 10% would probably show more.

    To be honest, if you block certain ads, you might actually end up with ads that pay even less.
     
    digitalpoint, Nov 30, 2004 IP
  6. DomainLoot

    DomainLoot Guest

    Best Answers:
    0
    #6
    That's interesting... cuz I was curious as well.

    I was just thinking about "reducing the # of ads (blocks)" THINKING
    it may "boost" rev a little for those ads.

    Maybe I'll leave it alone :)

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
    DomainLoot, Nov 30, 2004 IP