1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

External Harddrive recommendations?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by slymarketing, Apr 20, 2008.

  1. #1
    I haven't been backing up my work for a long time, and I thought I really should start sometime soon.

    Do you use an external harddrive for this, and if you do, can you recommend one?

    Jens
     
    slymarketing, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  2. GameOver

    GameOver Active Member

    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    35
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #2
    I saw the other day I saw a 1TB external hard drive that actually had 2x1TB hard drives in it however it copied the exact same information on to both harddrives so if one failed, the other one would still work. I may eventually get one of those but maybe not 1TB, as of now I will continue to use my 500GB one.
     
    GameOver, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  3. w3bmaster

    w3bmaster Notable Member

    Messages:
    17,608
    Likes Received:
    416
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    240
    #3
    I have A Seagate 500 g.b external drive 60 months warenty ....
     
    w3bmaster, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  4. cool_78

    cool_78 Guest

    Messages:
    11,416
    Likes Received:
    339
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    I'd recommend one made by seagate, any model will do since I have use their brand for my HD with little problems over the years.
     
    cool_78, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  5. dcristo

    dcristo Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    18,013
    Likes Received:
    884
    Best Answers:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    420
    #5
    Just get a normal 3.5" inch HD with external case. Seagate is a good brand.
     
    dcristo, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  6. wisdomtool

    wisdomtool Moderator Staff

    Messages:
    15,639
    Likes Received:
    1,316
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    385
    #6
    Just any USB 80 GB or 160 GB will do nicely, these do not need external power supply and so much more convenient.
     
    wisdomtool, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  7. nks

    nks Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    39
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #7
    For backups only? Any hard disk drive will do, as long as the capacity is large enough to do your archiving.

    Alternatively, if you have some spare hard disk drives lying around that can be used, try Hard Disk Recycling. I'm sure this is more environmentally friendlier than throwing them away.
     
    nks, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  8. reachpradeep

    reachpradeep Peon

    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    79
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    i can say 500GB I/O Magic External HDD, i was using this hdd for more than one year, good performance
     
    reachpradeep, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  9. georgecotton

    georgecotton Peon

    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    21
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    I've had good experiences with Lacie external HDDs.
     
    georgecotton, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  10. slymarketing

    slymarketing Active Member

    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #10
    Thanks a lot for all your suggestions.

    I have been thinking about a NAS, this way I could do backups from all my computers without having to move the harddrive to each computer.

    But what I really need is just an external hd to backup the computer I use the most. So, I guess a regular USB hd will do.

    Jens
     
    slymarketing, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  11. bangalore

    bangalore Peon

    Messages:
    10,252
    Likes Received:
    461
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    I'm using wireless external drive box and it's making automatic updates every 2 days.
     
    bangalore, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  12. sydneyaus

    sydneyaus Active Member

    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    44
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    88
    #12
    I use two LaCie 1TB disks, they are very reliable.
     
    sydneyaus, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  13. slymarketing

    slymarketing Active Member

    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #13
    Bangalore,

    What kind of wireless external box are you using?

    Jens
     
    slymarketing, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  14. 5starpix

    5starpix Notable Member

    Messages:
    6,380
    Likes Received:
    83
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    235
    #14
    i have an external 250GB SATA
     
    5starpix, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  15. jackass2007

    jackass2007 Peon

    Messages:
    2,379
    Likes Received:
    267
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Is that WiFi? Speed must be really terrible then in case you backup GBs of data :(
     
    jackass2007, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  16. terminator69

    terminator69 Notable Member

    Messages:
    4,873
    Likes Received:
    260
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #16
    I currently backup all my stuff on a 500gb.

    I recommend buying a normal hdd and putting it inside a case, and that will be cheaper aswell.
     
    terminator69, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  17. slymarketing

    slymarketing Active Member

    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #17
    I am mainly using a laptop, that's why I am looking for an external hd.

    Not sure if I should use one that uses WiFi or not, I guess it will be a lot slower with the WiFi, but then it might be easier to backup all my computers.

    Jens
     
    slymarketing, Apr 20, 2008 IP
  18. forumtyrone

    forumtyrone Peon

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    I have a 250GB Ubuntu. Works fine. :)
     
    forumtyrone, Apr 21, 2008 IP