1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

exec(): Unable to fork

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by digitalpoint, Jul 27, 2005.

  1. frankm

    frankm Active Member

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    #21
    I just read back a bit in this thread, it could also be that your sweet MAC is telling you: please buy me a brother/sister.. all these hits are hurting me ..
    SEMrush
     
    frankm, Jul 27, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #22
    Server isn't even breaking a sweat. :)

    Peaks around 25% CPU usage, and system load is never over 1.00.

    Seems like a waste to have to get an extra computer just to handle the number of concurrent processes.
     
    digitalpoint, Jul 27, 2005 IP
  3. Shoemoney

    Shoemoney $

    Messages:
    4,475
    Likes Received:
    588
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    295
    #23
    well reason i knew what it was right away is cause every macosx server ive ever setup its the first thing i bump up is maxproc

    (soon as you said macosx that is)
     
    Shoemoney, Jul 27, 2005 IP
  4. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #24
    Are you able to set yours above 2068?

    Just tried it on my desktop machine (OS X, but not Server):

    So same thing on this machine.
     
    digitalpoint, Jul 27, 2005 IP
  5. Shoemoney

    Shoemoney $

    Messages:
    4,475
    Likes Received:
    588
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    295
    #25
    I dont have any..... I just was looking at our old checklist for setting up a macosx server =(
     
    Shoemoney, Jul 27, 2005 IP
  6. Shoemoney

    Shoemoney $

    Messages:
    4,475
    Likes Received:
    588
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    295
    #26
    I guess 2068 is it

    $ sudo sysctl -w kern.maxproc=2068
    $ sudo sysctl -w kern.maxprocperuid=2068

    To ensure the changes would persist after a reboot I added the two lines into the /etc/sysctl.conf file:

    $ cat /etc/sysctl.conf
    kern.maxproc=2068
    kern.maxprocperuid=2068
     
    Shoemoney, Jul 27, 2005 IP
  7. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #27
    Yeah, I made it 2068/1500 and also added it to the sysctl.conf file for when I reboot the machine in about 10 years. :)
     
    digitalpoint, Jul 27, 2005 IP
  8. Shoemoney

    Shoemoney $

    Messages:
    4,475
    Likes Received:
    588
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    295
    #28
    not to be nosy but...

    whatcha doing you need more then 2068 procs =P alot of sleepers or what?
     
    Shoemoney, Jul 27, 2005 IP
  9. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #29
    1,000 hits/second works out to a lot of processes. The machine is strictly a web server (not even MySQL running).

    It also happens to be the server the front-end of this forum is running on (db server is a different machine).
     
    digitalpoint, Jul 27, 2005 IP
  10. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #30
    I just checked the machine, and there is only 134 processes/312 threads running. So maybe that's *not* what the problem is. I'll see if the forking fails again tomorrow during peak hours.
     
    digitalpoint, Jul 27, 2005 IP
  11. Shoemoney

    Shoemoney $

    Messages:
    4,475
    Likes Received:
    588
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    295
    #31
    Ohh Thats The Problem!! Seriously.... I would be stunned if its not based one what you said
     
    Shoemoney, Jul 27, 2005 IP
  12. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #32
    Little more info I found out while researching stuff... By default there is a limit of 100 processes imposed per user with the ulimit function. So I also modified the /etc/rc.common file and added ulimit -u 500 to it since that is what is used to spawn daemons.

    I think that might have been the real culprit.
     
    digitalpoint, Jul 27, 2005 IP
  13. Shoemoney

    Shoemoney $

    Messages:
    4,475
    Likes Received:
    588
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    295
    #33
    leety well gluck on that ;)
     
    Shoemoney, Jul 27, 2005 IP
  14. RectangleMan

    RectangleMan Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    131
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    210
    #34
    I run FreeBSD servers too so if you need some help lmk. I do pretty well as a sys admin and also admin other big forums for clients. CheapAssGamer.com has like 400 users on at a time. :)

    He is a client.
     
    RectangleMan, Jul 28, 2005 IP
  15. Tomnibus

    Tomnibus Peon

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #35
    I'm very concerned. I edited my sysctl.conf file it looks like:

    cat /etc/sysctl.conf
    kern.maxproc = 2068
    kern.maxprocperuid = 2028

    (not sure why I set the second to 2028, it probably should be 2048)

    I rebooted twice after editing this and when running sysctl -a it still shows the default values of 2048 and 1000

    What is going on? Anyone know?

    System: Mac OS X Server 10.3.9
     
    Tomnibus, Aug 16, 2005 IP
  16. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #36
    I really don't think it would matter, but you could try it I suppose... I don't have any spaces in mine:

    kern.maxproc=2068
    kern.maxprocperuid=1500
    Code (markup):
    Also, the bigger problem turned out to be the ulimit stuff. The default ulimit restrictions were not letter the machine even get to the defined maxprocperuid.
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 16, 2005 IP
  17. Shoemoney

    Shoemoney $

    Messages:
    4,475
    Likes Received:
    588
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    295
    #37
    was that why sometimes i got errors on this site like the server wasnt responding.. seems cool now. I was going to report it but I was pretty sure you were aware DP
     
    Shoemoney, Aug 16, 2005 IP
  18. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #38
    I know about any problems with any servers within 15 seconds of the problem happening (via text message), so I knew about it before you did. ;)

    If you were talking about something in the last 72 hours, no... it was not a limit on the processes imposed by the kernel, but Apache was acting weird one day (still not sure why exactly). The httpd processes were segfaulting all over the place. Ended up doing nothing but stopping and restarting Apache, and it's been fine since (no other changes). So we'll see...
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 16, 2005 IP
  19. Shoemoney

    Shoemoney $

    Messages:
    4,475
    Likes Received:
    588
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    295
    #39
    ohh this was last week for a bit. I would just get a site not responding error like apache stoped but i hit refresh and it was good to go.

    I am not quesitoning your monintoring if I didnt think you knew I would have messaged you.

    I just got a new router at home though cause I was having alot of packets droped and my QoS scheduler was total crap (I constantly sync my production media servers with my dev enviornment at home so at any given time I am downloading about 1-2mb/s)

    so I got a new router and everything is better now so probably was on my end.
     
    Shoemoney, Aug 16, 2005 IP
  20. Ferrarislave

    Ferrarislave Peon

    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    38
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #40
    This is a pretty old thread. But I am always curious when it comes to Unix and Shoemoney & Shawn. How do you have all the system calls memorized like that?
     
    Ferrarislave, Jan 25, 2007 IP