1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Examples of Sites Using Joomla

Discussion in 'Joomla' started by travoholic, Feb 14, 2006.

  1. #1
    Hi guys,

    I'm new to the CMS thing and want to see what Joomla is capable of since I've heard so many good things about it. I enjoy designing my sites and am not keen to use some static template though. Can any of you point me to any websites you know of that are currently using Joomla that aren't typical template sites so I can see what this thing is capable of?

    Thanks!
    Kirsty
     
    travoholic, Feb 14, 2006 IP
  2. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    18,873
    Likes Received:
    2,225
    Best Answers:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    615
    #2
    sarahk, Feb 15, 2006 IP
    freelancer4hire likes this.
  3. Rated

    Rated Peon

    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Sarahk i think you have a CSS problem, with your addvert, it floats to the bottom left, and im sure it should go in that pretty border to the top right :)
    just pointing it out :rolleyes:
     
    Rated, Feb 15, 2006 IP
  4. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    18,873
    Likes Received:
    2,225
    Best Answers:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    615
    #4
    My adserver had meltdown and then the domain registrar took my money to renew but didn't. It's related to that I'm sure. Will have to go sort it out as the ads aren't even from the right zone.

    Anyway, if you view the source you can get an idea of how different the template is to a standard template.
     
    sarahk, Feb 15, 2006 IP
  5. webavt

    webavt Peon

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    webavt.com using Joomla pretty well in my opinion. =)

    -JB
     
    webavt, Feb 16, 2006 IP
  6. Edz

    Edz Peon

    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    72
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Edz, Feb 17, 2006 IP
  7. carowan

    carowan Peon

    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    if you goto joomlas site, they have a section of links pointing to live sites that you can browse.
     
    carowan, Feb 17, 2006 IP
  8. cldnails

    cldnails Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #8
    Feel free to check out the-grayline.com which was coded from scratch with Joomla! However, I know that it doesn't even start to show off what the CMS is capable of. Although I will give Joomla a really good review, at least for what I've used it for and it is leaps and bounds over PHPNuke.
     
    cldnails, Feb 17, 2006 IP
  9. aeronautic.net

    aeronautic.net Active Member

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #9
    I'm running my new horse picture website on joomla.

    If you click on the "tack shop" links (the page url results) you'll some real SEO friendly pages.

    www.stupidhorsetricks.com

    I'll be migrating my mambo sites over soon.
     
    aeronautic.net, Feb 23, 2006 IP
  10. cldnails

    cldnails Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #10
    Looks good aeronautic.net. Also, I would like to mention that I recently changed the theme of my joomla site, so it's most definately coded by me anymore, at least the theme. ;)
     
    cldnails, Feb 23, 2006 IP
  11. aeronautic.net

    aeronautic.net Active Member

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #11
    cldnails -

    you did a nice job on your site too. i'm still missing most of my content - just getting things started, but thanks for the kind words.
     
    aeronautic.net, Feb 23, 2006 IP
  12. Blame Me

    Blame Me Guest

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    I am currently redeveloping this site www.golfinnyc.com/index.php (remove the index.php to see the owners former design) from an old Front Page html designed site, to something up to date and decided to use Joomla.

    Whilst I use the Joomla base template, it is very easy to modify if you understand css (IMHO).
     
    Blame Me, Feb 24, 2006 IP
    DomainMagnate likes this.
  13. MKInfo

    MKInfo DP Guard Dog

    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    97
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #13
    I have a couple of sites running on it here and here
     
    MKInfo, Feb 25, 2006 IP
    freelancer4hire likes this.
  14. cldnails

    cldnails Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #14
    Thank you. The great part about Joomla! is that the resources are just overly abundant. The amount of 3rd party addons, themes, and everything joomla is readily available.

    A good resource that I've found is http://joomlahacks.com it may help you out on some things too.
     
    cldnails, Feb 25, 2006 IP
    freelancer4hire likes this.
  15. aeronautic.net

    aeronautic.net Active Member

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #15
    Nice job blending the AdSense in too - excellent SEO also.

    Are you using one of the AdSense components or mods on the skin-fresh site to wrap the text around?
     
    aeronautic.net, Feb 27, 2006 IP
  16. Cristian Mezei

    Cristian Mezei Notable Member

    Messages:
    3,332
    Likes Received:
    355
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    203
    #16
    Cristian Mezei, Feb 27, 2006 IP
    freelancer4hire likes this.
  17. MKInfo

    MKInfo DP Guard Dog

    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    97
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #17
    Yes .I am using the adsense mod from Joomlaspan.It is very flexible and you can use it more than once.That is the mod also for the links.If you notice on the right too there is even a mod for the DP co-op :) .
     
    MKInfo, Feb 27, 2006 IP
  18. medusa

    medusa Peon

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    14
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    medusa, Mar 4, 2006 IP
  19. cldnails

    cldnails Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #19
    Look good medusa and I think I've referenced Joomlaspan a few times when deciding on ad placement and the like. Great looking sites.
     
    cldnails, Mar 4, 2006 IP
  20. jenerate

    jenerate Guest

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    I am recently new to Joomla as well, have only been using it for about 6 months now. UP until recently, i did everything using dreamweaver and fireworks.....the good ole way, and since starting out at a new company, i was moved over to the joomla/mambo content management systems.

    Now every site that i have designed in the last 6 months have all been designed on the joomla platform.

    Our main company site was also designed on top of the joomla platform.

    You can see this by going to http://www.jenerate.com

    All projects outlined in the portfolio section were also all designed on joomla/mambo. so you can have a look at those sections as well for a reference.

    If you decide to proceed with joomla and you need any help, just give me a shout.

    Good Luck
     
    jenerate, Mar 16, 2006 IP
    freelancer4hire likes this.