1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.
  2. Better Analytics for WordPress Get It Free

Error on Sitemap, Help for Newbe Pleaseeee!

Discussion in 'Google Sitemaps' started by 70mm, Sep 18, 2006.

  1. #1
    Iv finally got everything else setup on Google including my paid ads but I just dont know or understand what Im doing wrong to get the sitemap without errors or does it matter if its not working?

    See below:

    http://www.google.com/webmasters/sitemaps/siteoverview

    My site is www.rapalloav.co.nz

    I hope someone here can help me please?

    Many thanks in advance.:confused:
     
    70mm, Sep 18, 2006 IP
  2. glengall1

    glengall1 Peon

    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    what format are you using for the sitemap and what are the errors.
     
    glengall1, Sep 19, 2006 IP
  3. 70mm

    70mm Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    what do I have to do to get the answer to both those questions please?
     
    70mm, Sep 19, 2006 IP
  4. glengall1

    glengall1 Peon

    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    You are saying that you are getting errors. Is it Google sitemaps that is saying you have errors/

    The normal sitemap format that Google uses is a .xml file? Is that what you are using?

    How are you creating your sitemap?
     
    glengall1, Sep 19, 2006 IP
  5. 70mm

    70mm Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    yes its google sitmap that says I have errors.
     
    70mm, Sep 19, 2006 IP
  6. 70mm

    70mm Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    i then found gsite crawler today and made a sitemap but when i went back to check with google it still said i have an error, what does that mean? It never said I had an error when I used gsite grawler to make the map? Its all a bit conplex for me to understand? Sorry:(
     
    70mm, Sep 19, 2006 IP
  7. glengall1

    glengall1 Peon

    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    I use a program called http://www.xml-sitemaps.cm Go over to this site and have a look. If your site has less then 500 pages then it is free.

    Have a look and get back to me>
     
    glengall1, Sep 19, 2006 IP
  8. 70mm

    70mm Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    gsite grawler
     
    70mm, Sep 19, 2006 IP
  9. glengall1

    glengall1 Peon

    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Sorry posts are overlapping.

    I use a program called http://www.xml-sitemaps.com Go over to this site and have a look. If your site has less then 500 pages then it is free.

    Have a look and get back to me>
     
    glengall1, Sep 19, 2006 IP
  10. glengall1

    glengall1 Peon

    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    This site automatically pings Google with your sitemap. It crawls your site to make the sitemap which it does in .xml (for the search engines that use this). .txt (for the search engines that us this format like Yahoo) and a .htm version for your own site.
     
    glengall1, Sep 19, 2006 IP
  11. 70mm

    70mm Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Thanks so much for your help. In in NZ and about to go to bed as its late but I will read what you sent me in the morning and try and see if I can get it all to work. My site I believe is very small, Im sure way under 500 pages did you check it out? www.rapalloav.co.nz its only been running 3/4 weeks but still my ratings are noy quite happening for most of my products I sell. I have adwords running that help, but still would like to see my name show up if you do a search say for "HDMI Cables" one of my most important products. Im only trying to target NZ so I thought it might be easier but not so far! Does a sitemap help in this area?

    Strange thing is one of my products for Oppo DVD Players always shows a listing but not anything for the Cables I sell which is the most important area for me.

    Lets see if tomorrow I can fix this.

    You can pm me if its easier?

    Thank you so far for finding time to help:)
     
    70mm, Sep 19, 2006 IP
  12. 70mm

    70mm Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    Hi Ive made my site map and it all worked but I dont understand how to add it to google sitemap area. I tried but I know Im doing something wrong and it still says I have an error:confused:
     
    70mm, Sep 19, 2006 IP
  13. 70mm

    70mm Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    It only got worse with heaps of errors since I used your prog:confused: what am I doing wrong do you think?

    Web 19 minutes ago 17 minutes ago Errors
    aboutus.php Web 19 minutes ago 17 minutes ago Errors
    home.php Web 23 minutes ago 21 minutes ago Errors
    index.php Web 20 minutes ago 19 minutes ago Errors
    order.php Web 4 minutes ago – Pending
    order.php?decrease=46&q=2 Web 2 minutes ago – Pending
    order.php?delete=46 Web 3 minutes ago – Pending
    order.php?increase=46&q=1 Web 3 minutes ago 3 minutes ago Errors
    order.php?increase=46&q=2 Web 2 minutes ago – Pending
    products.php Web 18 minutes ago 17 minutes ago Errors
    products.php?cat=1&sub=10 Web 14 minutes ago 13 minutes ago Errors
    products.php?cat=1&sub=11 Web 12 minutes ago 11 minutes ago Errors
    products.php?cat=1&sub=12 Web 13 minutes ago 11 minutes ago Errors
    products.php?cat=1&sub=13 Web 12 minutes ago 11 minutes ago Errors
    products.php?cat=1&sub=14 Web 11 minutes ago 9 minutes ago Errors
    products.php?cat=1&sub=15 Web 10 minutes ago 9 minutes ago Errors
    products.php?cat=1&sub=16 Web 10 minutes ago 9 minutes ago Errors
    products.php?cat=1&sub=17 Web 9 minutes ago 7 minutes ago Errors
    products.php?cat=1&sub=5 Web 13 minutes ago 11 minutes ago Errors
    products.php?cat=1&sub=6 Web 11 minutes ago 9 minutes ago Errors
    products.php?cat=1&sub=7 Web 14 minutes ago 13 minutes ago Errors
    products.php?cat=1&sub=8 Web 15 minutes ago 13 minutes ago Errors
    products.php?cat=1&sub=9 Web 15 minutes ago 13 minutes ago Errors
    products.php?cat=2 Web 17 minutes ago 15 minutes ago Errors
    products.php?cat=2&sub Web 6 minutes ago – Pending
    Download this table
     
    70mm, Sep 19, 2006 IP
  14. hubel

    hubel Grunt

    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    168
    #14
    I don't know for sure but from what you have put in your last post it looks like you are submitting each page as a sitemap? Is that correct?

    You should only need to submit 1 sitemap for your site and it should be something like www.rapalloav.co.nz/sitemap.xml
     
    hubel, Sep 20, 2006 IP
  15. 70mm

    70mm Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Well you are absolutley correct! I always thought I should be doing only one but I never could make just one work:( I was not sure where to find the correct part to add so I did each one individually which took me foever:eek: Can you help me to understand it better pleaseeeeeee:)
     
    70mm, Sep 20, 2006 IP
  16. bnts

    bnts Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    310
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    #16
    DO THIS:

    1. Go to www.xml-sitemaps.com and creat a site map for your url in xml format.

    2. Go to your google webmaster's account and chose the option for submitting a sitemap. Read the instructions nicely [two times :) ] and you sure find it easy. Submit your sitemap and wait for update. It may take a day or lesser.

    3. You will see the results in your Webmaster's acoount site diognostic overview.

    If you still have problem, let us know...
     
    bnts, Sep 21, 2006 IP
  17. 70mm

    70mm Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    I know how to do it, the problem is when I make the sitemap I end up with 37 URL's and the first one is only the name of my website eg. http://www.rapalloav.co.nz/ the eg. says I should be adding something like http://www.rapalloav.co.nz/sitemap.xml/ I never see anything like that on all the 37 URL's on my sitemap I create???? So the first time I just added the 37 separte URL's which took forever to do!:mad: Then I have 37 errors:mad: Im trying to add a SINGLE URL but the correct looking one I need saying sitemap at the end of my name is just no where to be seen!!! Why?:confused:
     
    70mm, Sep 21, 2006 IP
  18. hubel

    hubel Grunt

    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    168
    #18
    Okay, what you need to do is as follows:

    Once you have created your xml sitemap on xml-sitemaps.com you will see a link on the page below where it says

    Initial website address
    http://www.rapalloav.co.nz/
    Download un-compressed XML Sitemap

    Click the link and save the file to your pc.

    Upload the file (sitemap.xml) to your server and place it in the root directory (the one that contains your home.php page)

    Once you have done that go to your Google Webmaster Account and click the tab that says "Sitemaps"

    Then click add sitemap and enter in http://www.rapalloav.co.nz/sitemap.xml
     
    hubel, Sep 21, 2006 IP
  19. bnts

    bnts Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    310
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    #19
    Oh..you dont need a sitemap for each of ur urls..infact a single sitemap is ok with a complete website for a go...and dont go to deep into what the site map contains becos u r a begineers. Just download the xml file [sitemap.xml] and upload it into ur root directory http://www.rapalloav.co.nz/, then go to google and type in http://www.rapalloav.co.nz/sitemap.xml as the path for ur xml file, thats all, you are done there.

    Still confused? just let us know...
     
    bnts, Sep 21, 2006 IP
  20. 70mm

    70mm Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    Ok I understand everything and have done all the parts except "upload it into ur root directory" thats the part I never did but thats the part I dont understand?:rolleyes: sorry can you get me through that part then the rest is ok;) I think:rolleyes:
     
    70mm, Sep 21, 2006 IP