1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Enabling Yahoo/MSN support

Discussion in 'Keyword Tracker' started by vincenzo, Apr 7, 2005.

  1. #1
    I want to enable Yahoo/MSN support but I do not have a web server to load the script on. How do I enable them?
    Thanks
    SEMrush
     
    vincenzo, Apr 7, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,326
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #2
    You would need a server to run the script on, sorry.
     
    digitalpoint, Apr 7, 2005 IP
  3. debunked

    debunked Prominent Member

    Messages:
    7,298
    Likes Received:
    416
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #3
    If you have a website you probably have a server....

    Save the script on your site.
     
    debunked, Apr 7, 2005 IP
  4. vincenzo

    vincenzo Peon

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    I maintain a site for someone else, but I do not want to use their server for my purposes.

    Comcast is my ISP, and I can create a site with them. Will that work?

    Thanks
     
    vincenzo, Apr 8, 2005 IP
  5. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,326
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #5
    If their servers support PHP could could.
     
    digitalpoint, Apr 8, 2005 IP
  6. vincenzo

    vincenzo Peon

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    There is something I am unclear on.
    When the script is loaded onto my server, how does that effect what I can do on digitalpoint.com? As far as I know, I am not using my server when I am surfing the web. Where is the connection?
    Thanks
     
    vincenzo, Apr 9, 2005 IP
  7. Bazkaz

    Bazkaz Peon

    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    34
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Vincenzo you could use a free web-host like Whosters to host the script on. Just sign up in their forum and go to the request area. It's fast, easy, and free.... though their forum itself isn't that great.

    Also to answer your last question the script you host on your server is simply used by the keyword tracking tool. The connection is when you type in the URL to your hosted script so the keyword tracker knows where to find it. This allows you to run up to 1000 queries/day (I think) on Yahoo/MSN. It would be impossible for Shaun to be able to support everyone who uses the free Keyword tracker in just 1000 queries/day.
     
    Bazkaz, Apr 9, 2005 IP
  8. hulkster

    hulkster Peon

    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    93
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Google is 1,000 queries per API key - 10 results returned per query.

    Yahoo is 5,000 queries per IP address - although you may need multiple queries per keyword depending on how far down you are and how big a chunk Shawn's code take per each query.

    I don't think (?) there is any limitation in MSN since it's parsing the RSS feed.
     
    hulkster, Apr 9, 2005 IP
  9. Bazkaz

    Bazkaz Peon

    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    34
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Cool, thanks for the clarification Alek.
     
    Bazkaz, Apr 10, 2005 IP
  10. vincenzo

    vincenzo Peon

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    OK thanks for the info. I'll check Comcast first, then look into the free host.
     
    vincenzo, Apr 10, 2005 IP
  11. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,326
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #11
    Google is limited to 10 results per query, Yahoo is limited to 50 per query and MSN is 10 also 10 results per query.

    So if you needed to search 200 results deep, it would take a maximum of 20 APi calls for Google and MSN, and 4 for Yahoo.

    Also, I do it as efficiently as possible based on the last known position. For example, if you are setup to search 200 deep, and your last known position was 135, Google and MSN will use the following order to search:

    131-140
    121-130
    111-120
    101-110
    91-100
    81-90
    71-80
    61-70
    51-60
    41-50
    31-40
    21-30
    11-20
    1-10
    141-150
    151-160
    161-170
    171-180
    181-190
    191-200

    Yahoo would use the following pattern:

    101-150
    51-100
    1-50
    151-200

    So in most cases, it can locate it with one (or just a couple) queries since it bases it on the last known position.
     
    digitalpoint, Apr 10, 2005 IP
  12. wordtamer

    wordtamer Guest

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    So, Whoster has no problem with someone setting up a website just to run this code? My site isn't PHP compatible but I'm want to use the Co-op's tools.

    wt
     
    wordtamer, Apr 11, 2005 IP