1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Embedded Audio on Wordpress Site

Discussion in 'Graphics & Multimedia' started by treyarnon, Oct 31, 2016.

Hello,

I am currently building a wordpress that will include a technical dictionary. I would like the user to be able to press on a word and hear an audio reproduction of its correct pronunciation. Can anyone suggest how I can do this? I am relatively new to all of this and am a bit lost.

Thank you.

treyarnon, Oct 31, 2016 IP
  2. Nigel Lew

Nigel Lew Notable Member

Best Answers:
    I would probably need to take a look at a few things to understand a bit more clearly what you need to happen but, I was actually surprised I sort of found something out of the gate that largely does this. I think.

https://wordpress.org/plugins/dictionary-box/ I have not had time to install it but I can in a sec. I have multiple instances of wp running on my dev. server. I will try to slap it somewhere real fast.

Nigel

Nigel Lew, Oct 31, 2016 IP
  3. treyarnon

treyarnon Active Member

Best Answers:
    Nigel - thank you very much for taking the time. I really appreciate it. I am building the site to deliver an online business English course related to a particular industry, to people for whom English is not their first language. I will record the audio for each word in my own voice and I want to embed it so that when they click on the word they hear the pronunciation.Alternatively, a small speaker icon next to the word would also be fine. I just need to deliver the recording in the easiest way possible. It sound as if you might be onto something. Thanks again and I'll await your further comments.

treyarnon, Oct 31, 2016 IP
  4. Nigel Lew

Nigel Lew Notable Member