1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Efficient Forum Software

Discussion in 'vBulletin' started by ashesnglass, Jun 12, 2006.

Hi,

I've been running a forum using phpBB for a couple years now. phpBB isn't the greatest but I'd be content to use it if it were not for the fact that the script frequently overloads the server with the huge number of MySQL queries phpBB makes.

I've read a number of threads about different software, but none of them seem to address this issue. Is there a piece of software--whether SMF or vBulletin or anything else--that handles commands more efficiently? My forum averages 3500 posts/day, though during peak periods it's much higher.

Thanks for any help!

Dave

ashesnglass, Jun 12, 2006 IP
  2. TheHoff

TheHoff Peon

Best Answers:
    Do you have searching turned on?

If so, that is likely the root of your problem. The best solution I've found is to use a second, smaller database server to respond to search requests -- leaving the main database to handle the opens and closes necessary to process multiple posts per second. Then you sync the slave db every few minutes to include the new posts in the search results.

TheHoff, Jun 12, 2006 IP
  3. ashesnglass

ashesnglass Member

Best Answers:
    Thanks. If both DBs are on the same server (they would be) will simply splitting the requests between two DBs make much of a difference to overall server load?

4. TheHoff

TheHoff Peon

Best Answers:
    Sorry, no, it needs to be on it's own server. What is your hardware split now? Typically I'd suggest:

1 apache
    1 image server running tux
    1 mysql server
    1 slave mysql for searches