1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Dynamic Site Seo, What to use 301 redirect or 404 error page?

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by harish318, Nov 3, 2004.

Hi

I am a newbie and have a dynamic site. New member pages are generated every day but since they are dynamic they are not SE friendly. My objective is to make these pages spider friendly and thus get them indexed. The site is developed in ASP and MS-SQL. I searched for the info and came across solving this either by ISAPI Rewrite or 404 error page.

When I asked my hosting co. whether ISAPI is installed on the server they said no and instead asked me to use 301 redirect.

Now I am confused and have following queries?

What is the difference between 404 and 301 and when are they used?
    What are the advantages and disadvantages in both of them?

Finally what should I use and why and are both methods SE friendly and whether I would get penalised for using any of these methods?

Some of you may suggest me to change my hosting co. and go for ISAPI but I do not want to do so as fas as possible.

Harish

harish318, Nov 3, 2004 IP
  2. john_loch

john_loch Rodent Slayer

Best Answers:
    It's actually "404 Not Found".
    This is the servers way of saying the requested page no longer exists. That's also how a search engine crawler treats it when it encounters it. You don't want to use it unless you want the search engine to think the page or resource being requested no longer exists - it'll disappear from the search engine index.

A 301 is actually "301 Moved Permanently"