1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Drop Down submenu has too many items

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by tyankee, Jan 8, 2018.

  1. #1
    i have a drop down submenu on http://jimb101.staging.wpengine.com/portfolio_page/sulfur-hexafluoride-sf6 that doesn't show all of the items because there are too many for the dropdown box. Is there a way to make this box scrollable? You can see this by hovering over the Menu item 'Products and Services' and then hovering over 'Electronic Specialty Gases and Chemicals'. On my screen there are about 12 more gases than what is showing there.
    SEMrush
     
    tyankee, Jan 8, 2018 IP
    SEMrush
  2. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    23,768
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Best Answers:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    615
    #2
    I'd see if you can break it down into steps - ask one question, use javascript to set up the next dropdown with the relevant choices, then repeat. While you might find a solution it doesn't sound particularly user friendly.

    If breaking it down doesn't work, how about a field that has auto suggest?
     
    sarahk, Jan 9, 2018 IP
  3. tyankee

    tyankee Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    130
    #3
    what do you mean by 'field that has auto suggest'???
     
    tyankee, Jan 9, 2018 IP
  4. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    23,768
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Best Answers:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    615
    #4
    sarahk, Jan 9, 2018 IP
  5. tyankee

    tyankee Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    130
    #5
    i think i know what you mean but didn't see it in that site you mentioned. plus i don't think this idea will work with the client. i just need a scrollable drop down menu
     
    tyankee, Jan 10, 2018 IP
  6. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    23,768
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Best Answers:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    615
    #6
    The cursor is placed in the only field on the page and they give example text to type in... how did you not see it?
    upload_2018-1-11_10-28-36.png
    Except that your list is so long it breaks and will be unusable.
    Your client is relying on your professional advice, give it.
     
    sarahk, Jan 10, 2018 IP
  7. tyankee

    tyankee Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    130
    #7
    so you are saying it would be impossible to use a scrollable region for the menus?
     
    tyankee, Jan 10, 2018 IP
  8. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    23,768
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Best Answers:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    615
    #8
    aah, no, you started your thread by saying the list was too long. do you really think users are going to be willing to wade through the list to find exactly what they're looking for?
     
    sarahk, Jan 10, 2018 IP