1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Drop down menus a thing of the past?

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by eric davenport, Sep 29, 2016.

Hello Digital World!

I am very new to web design and am in the process of starting my first blog! I want to set up my blog in a well designed way that readers can easily manage before dumping in a bunch of content. I have been reading that drop down menus are not the best for readability or for SEO purposes, as they stop they flow of the reader and it's more difficult on the google crawlers.

Do you agree?

I have an idea of how I would like to set up my menu and would like to know what you all think. Hypothetically, if my blog was about travel I would have a main tab of destinations. Rather than having a drop down menu that displays all the destinations I've written about, that menu item would take the reader to another page that has a list of links of the different destinations. When they click on these links it would take them to another page that displays all the articles written about this destination whether it would be food, lodging, it is under the main tab of the destination. Basically it starts out broad and then becomes more and more specified.

Would this set up be good for readability? And would it be good for organic google SEO?

Please let me know what you all think and I appreciate any feedback and insight.

Thanks!

eric davenport, Sep 29, 2016 IP
  2. meet_dilip

meet_dilip Member

Best Answers:
    I still love the normal way of using menu. Drop down menu appeals more to me than tabs.

meet_dilip, Sep 29, 2016 IP
  3. wordplucker

wordplucker Well-Known Member

Best Answers: