1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Domain name clarification/issue.

Discussion in 'Domain Names' started by dim sum, Aug 21, 2014.

Hi
    quite new to forum and not really technical so I need a bit of help, although I can follow clear instructions. I use Wordpress and posted there but am not getting a response so I'm trying here as it's more directly related.

I started a blog about a month ago. I'm new to this so a bit unaware about some things. I registered a .com domain but perhaps naively I didn't specify www. so it's http://
    I thought this might be a problem but I've since seen quite a few blogs with http:// so is this actually O.K?

I installed Wordpress but my content is viewable on .com/wp not .com as I'd intended, which just shows a landing page for my host company. Again is this an issue? I already have users and when I look at my stats 99% come from bookmarks so I don't want to lose the users I've already acquired.

I recall seeing in the settings menu on Wordpress a box which shows the location of the site which is .com/wp so I imagine this is like a sub-directory of the main site. If I just deleted the /wp characters would my content be viewable on .com and would my bookmarked users still see it?

Any replies much appreciated, just want to get answer to this so I can move forward. Also I'm looking for answers so I can learn and do it myself not ones from businesses offering their services.

Thanks

dim sum, Aug 21, 2014 IP
  2. billzo

billzo Well-Known Member

Best Answers: