1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Dolphin or Joomla? Need advice, please :)

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by bodhicoyote, Jan 27, 2008.

Hi all, this is my first post here.

We're trying to decide whether we should use BoonEx Dolphin or Joomla to build an upcoming social network website. The main issue is that although my partner in this is a very experienced website developer, he won't have a lot of time to help out. Therefore, the bulk of the work involved in creating and administering the site will fall on my shoulders. I do have a lot of experience with business software and some scripting (batch files, macros, basic html), but I am a total noob when it comes to PHP and website development. Given enough time I can figure out just about any software I've had to use, but in this case we want to be up and running soonest, so my learning curve needs to be as easy as possible.

I like the fact that Joomla is totally open source and has a large, active community, but the two examples I've found of people using it for social networking sites are a little intimidating. I was left with the impression that the webmasters are experts at Joomla, PHP and website development in general.

BoonEx Dolphin presents itself as being a "social network in a can", so to speak, and the branding issue isn't a concern since it's pretty cheap to have it removed. However, I've heard some complaints as to its reliability and support, although I've so far read nothing definitive enough to steer me away from it.