1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Does anyone know how to build the website on joomla with at least 2 languages choices

Discussion in 'Joomla' started by richardm55, Oct 1, 2012.

  1. #1
    I would like to build my new website with the icons of at least 2 countries to change language of content. I know that I should put icons with links to 2 copies of two different pages in different languages. How could I do that exactly in joomla?
    SEMrush
     
    richardm55, Oct 1, 2012 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Rankx

    Rankx Active Member

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    50
    #2
    No you don't need to do any of that. Use a module such as Gtranslate to switch languages in the front end.
     
    Rankx, Oct 2, 2012 IP
  3. richardm55

    richardm55 Active Member

    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    65
    #3
    Thank you for your help. Where will I find this module, Gtranslate? Is it part of joomla installation or I must look for it somewhere?
     
    richardm55, Oct 2, 2012 IP
  4. joomseller09

    joomseller09 Peon

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    joomseller09, Oct 12, 2012 IP
  5. richardm55

    richardm55 Active Member

    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    65
    #5
    Thank you for so helpful information. It is very kind of you. I like this guide which clearly explain all steps in creating multi-language feature in joomla.
     
    richardm55, Oct 13, 2012 IP
  6. joomseller09

    joomseller09 Peon

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    I'm glad to hear that :D
     
    joomseller09, Oct 15, 2012 IP
  7. richardm55

    richardm55 Active Member

    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    65
    #7
    Yes, I did this last weekend and all works.
     
    richardm55, Oct 15, 2012 IP
  8. joomseller09

    joomseller09 Peon

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    joomseller09, Oct 25, 2012 IP
  9. richardm55

    richardm55 Active Member

    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    65
    #9
    richardm55, Oct 25, 2012 IP
  10. richardm55

    richardm55 Active Member

    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    65
    #10
    I have nearly finished building multi-language menu in joomla but I still don't understand how to assign the menu item types in menu items, which ones to use? For example, for article category:
    .single category
    .list all categories
    .category blog
    .category list
    .featured article
    create article
    So which is it for which then? I need some help in that.
     
    richardm55, Nov 11, 2012 IP
  11. schlogo

    schlogo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #11
    Have you looked at the improvements made about language management in Joomla 3.0.2
     
    schlogo, Nov 16, 2012 IP
  12. richardm55

    richardm55 Active Member

    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    65
    #12
    There is full language support in version 2.5.7. I have done this bit and I am in stage choosing right template for my website at the moment.
     
    richardm55, Nov 20, 2012 IP
  13. Slokix

    Slokix Peon

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    #13
    Hi, this is possible and natively integrated in Joomla !
    You have to use a dedicated language plugin, the language switching module and to create two menu tree and duplicated articles.
    You will associate each menu entry in one language with his alternative in the other language.

    Than using the language switcher module, it will change automatically the diplayed article associated with the manu depending on the lagnauge.

    There is a nice tutorial on joomla.org, or with a little google search :)
     
    Slokix, Dec 5, 2012 IP
  14. richardm55

    richardm55 Active Member

    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    65
    #14
    I am done with this already so this post is out of date for me but maybe it is useful for someone else.
     
    richardm55, Dec 6, 2012 IP
  15. GoldFreind

    GoldFreind Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    #15
    joomfish is the best free solution i think
     
    GoldFreind, Dec 7, 2012 IP
  16. richardm55

    richardm55 Active Member

    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    65
    #16
    You are probably right but the newest version of joomla support multi-languages in website design.
     
    richardm55, Dec 13, 2012 IP
  17. Slokix

    Slokix Peon

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    #17
    It's good to know that even if Jommla integrate a build-in support for multi-languages websites it's slightly different to the JoomFish solution.

    - Joomla offers to switch between language and display articles or menus in a specific language. It means that you have to duplicate all you content and specify a language for each item. It's an easy way to build up multi-languages websites.
    Cons : It's difficult to maintain if you have numerous languages and articles.

    - Joomfish is able to include translation inside a single article. In fact, you'll have duplicate fields for each language. So you can have an overview of your content not yet translated, specify default content or language in that case.
    There are a lot a features to help you to manage that type of content.

    Depending of your needs and how your website is designed, you may have to choose.
    But i recommend to purchase a JoomFish licence if you want to use it. You'll obtain support and additional features.

    Anyway, build-in joomla component may be enough for basic needs.
     
    Slokix, Dec 14, 2012 IP
  18. richardm55

    richardm55 Active Member

    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    65
    #18
    Definitely, just first option is much better because language translators are never good ones.
     
    richardm55, Dec 14, 2012 IP