1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Do you mask your affiliate links?

Discussion in 'Affiliate Programs' started by Entrep, Jul 25, 2006.

  1. wargamer6

    wargamer6 Peon

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #21
    htaccess FTW!
     
    wargamer6, Dec 15, 2006 IP
  2. natekapi

    natekapi Peon

    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #22
    natekapi, Dec 15, 2006 IP
  3. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,986
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #23
    mad4, Dec 16, 2006 IP
  4. JoelJonathan

    JoelJonathan Peon

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #24
    .htaccess works fine for all of my other text links and will even work for this situation but the problem that I run into is that the post data (zip code) does not carry forward.

    thanks Mad4 - this I think is on the right track - I will try and see if I can figure it out and give it a try!
     
    JoelJonathan, Dec 16, 2006 IP
  5. softwareprojects

    softwareprojects Active Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    #25
    Always mask your URLs

    We did a bulk-mailing A/B split test, sending a total of 500,000 email messages to a group of qualified double opt-in leads with two link options.

    Group #1 got a link that looked like this:
    http:// spilnk.com / ?a=103x93x17&u=4x12

    Group #2 got a link that looked like this:
    http:// recyber.net / designationmp.html

    CTR for group #1 was 7%
    CTR for group #2 was 21%

    That's 3-times the number of clicks.

    We contacted 10 members of group #1 and asked why they didn't click on the link. The response was always in the lines of "oh it seemed suspicious" or "oh it looked like it will track me"

    When presenting links to your users, always KISS.
     
    softwareprojects, Dec 22, 2006 IP
  6. Tyler Banfield

    Tyler Banfield Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,027
    Likes Received:
    173
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
  7. autorave

    autorave Peon

    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    69
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #27
    autorave, Dec 27, 2006 IP
  8. carl_in_florida

    carl_in_florida Active Member

    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #28
    I hate to resurrect an old thread but . . .

    What does
     header("Location: http://www.affiliate.com/link.php");
    Code (markup):
    do? Should that be the url of my site?

    Thanks
     
    carl_in_florida, Jan 25, 2007 IP
  9. frisby

    frisby Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    39
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #29
    This code redirect you to the url which is given.
     
    frisby, Jan 25, 2007 IP
  10. carl_in_florida

    carl_in_florida Active Member

    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #30
    I don't think I was clear in my question. I understand that later in the code it sends to the link - ie. 1 = whatever and so on.

    I am guessing that the first couple lines of code are meant to send the search engines somewhere but where? Do I put my url there?

    Thanks for the help.
     
    carl_in_florida, Jan 25, 2007 IP
  11. camp185

    camp185 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    51
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    180
    #31
    For sure the easiest way.
     
    camp185, Feb 9, 2007 IP
  12. tambulex

    tambulex Peon

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #32
    So, once you masked the link, what is the best way to redirect ?

    Just a simple Header("Location: $link") or should you also send a 301 or 302 status-code ?
     
    tambulex, Apr 24, 2007 IP
  13. Weizheng

    Weizheng Peon

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #33
    My affiliate links look something like this:

    mysite.com/products/viagra123.html
    mysite.com/products/ebook456.html

    The numbers are just tracking codes used for AB testing or other stuff.

    Did a htaccess rewrite so that all uri that begins with "product" are processed by redirect.php

    redirect.php does a lookup then 302 redirect to affiliate site. I think a 302 (temp redirect) is better because you can switch your affiliate links anytime. If you use 301, browsers will cache the affiliate urls.

    And make sure you robot.txt the "product" path or make the affiliate links nofollow so that you're not leaking PR juice to your affiliates.
     
    Weizheng, Apr 25, 2007 IP
  14. tambulex

    tambulex Peon

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #34
    Thanks. This is exactly what I am doing now, but I have seen other sites sending a 301, so I really had some doubt what was the best.
     
    tambulex, Apr 25, 2007 IP
  15. john269

    john269 Notable Member

    Messages:
    6,229
    Likes Received:
    116
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    235
    #35
    What about if you have 1,000 or more links. What about if you have a product price comparison that has 1,000,000 products. Would that mean that you have to write 1,000,000 if statements in the php code?
     
    john269, Apr 27, 2007 IP
  16. SEOhype

    SEOhype Member

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    #36
    Well, here is a script you could use to redirect Google Bot:-

    $agent = $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'];
    if (eregi("google", $agent)) {header("HTTP/1.1 301?);
    header("Location: [url]http://path.com/to-your-new-page);[/url]
    exit(); }
    HTML:
     
    SEOhype, Dec 29, 2009 IP