1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Do PHP webpage effect optimization

Discussion in 'Search Engine Optimization' started by rjcable, Dec 28, 2004.

  1. #1
    All of my pages are in HTM format, however I am considering changing some if not all to PHP or ASPX. Will this effect optimization on Google or does it make no difference.
     
    rjcable, Dec 28, 2004 IP
  2. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    528
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Shouldn't make a difference.
     
    GuyFromChicago, Dec 28, 2004 IP
  3. skanxalot

    skanxalot Peon

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    It will not make a difference in how well your pages can rank, however, I suggest using a URL re-writing solution to ease the transfer and make it transparent to Google.
     
    skanxalot, Dec 28, 2004 IP
  4. rjcable

    rjcable Peon

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    thank you for your reply
     
    rjcable, Dec 28, 2004 IP
  5. North Carolina SEO

    North Carolina SEO Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    44
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #5
    You may want to look at the coding for your signature block. I believe you would rather have:

    Data Recovery, Server Data Recovery, Fields Data Recovery
     
    North Carolina SEO, Dec 28, 2004 IP
  6. rjcable

    rjcable Peon

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    I would rather that but how
     
    rjcable, Dec 28, 2004 IP
  7. rjcable

    rjcable Peon

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    I think I have go it right now, thanx
     
    rjcable, Dec 28, 2004 IP
  8. Matts

    Matts Berserker

    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #8
    I found that the SEs don't like to index dynamic pages. You can hide that your pages are dynamic (if your server is running Apache) by formatting the pages as:
    http://www.mysite.com/filename.php/parm/value/parm2/value2 and using this bit of code:
    if (strlen($_SERVER['PATH_INFO']) > 1) {
    $vars = explode('/', substr($_SERVER['PATH_INFO'], 1));
    while (list(, $var) = each($vars)) {
    list(, $val) = each($vars);
    $HTTP_GET_VARS[$var] = $val;
    $_GET[$var] = $val;
    $GLOBALS[$var] = $val;
    }
    }

    What is does is to create variables in the global namespace, $_GET and $HTTP_GET_VARS arrays with the variables on the directory list. So in my example, you'd get $_GET['parm'],$_GET['parm1'], $HTTP_GET_VARS['parm'], $HTTP_GET_VARS['parm1'],$parm, and $parm1 all set.

    This only works in Apache, because Apache will walk up the path until it finds a file. It also must be in the mainline code and not in a function -- at least not unless you use the global keyword on the vars.
     
    Matts, Dec 28, 2004 IP