1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Distinguishing between dialup and highspeed

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by rmkreeg, Aug 19, 2009.

I'm an xhtml/css/java script noob....

Is there an automated way for your website to distinguish between a highspeed connection and a dialup connection so that a high-bandwidth or low-bandwidth version will automatically display for the appropriate people?

My intuition says no since I haven't heard or seen of this...but then it might be so transparent that I've never noticed.

Any help is appreciated to make the end-user experience better!

-Bob K.

rmkreeg, Aug 19, 2009 IP
  2. awesometbn

awesometbn Peon

Best Answers:
    Here are a few ideas that have been asked and answered before. Please post again to let us know what works and doesn't work for you. Very interested to find out. Thanks!

Detecting Bandwidth with Flash and loading the right content
    hxxp://www.springload.co.nz/love-the-web/detecting-bandwidth-with-flash-and-loading-the-right-content/

Detecting bandwidth
    hxxp://forums.adobe.com/thread/475472

Streaming Through Firewalls and Proxies: From the Client's Perspective
    hxxp://www.adobe.com/devnet/flashcom/articles/firewall_streaming.html

Working with SMIL, Part 2: Detecting Bandwidth with Progressive FLV Files
    hxxp://www.communitymx.com/abstract.cfm?cid=8233A

awesometbn, Aug 19, 2009 IP
  3. theengineer

theengineer Peon

Best Answers:
    oh thanx awesometbn

v.good

theengineer, Aug 19, 2009 IP
  4. rmkreeg

rmkreeg Member

Best Answers: