1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

different PR values for xxx.com and www.xxx.com

Discussion in 'Google' started by brodaiga, Aug 20, 2007.

  1. #1
    why is this happening? different PR in google, one is 0, other is 2. yahoo site explorer shows 10 links for one and 200 for the other? is this normal??

    site is crowntutoring . com
     
    brodaiga, Aug 20, 2007 IP
  2. redhits

    redhits Notable Member

    Messages:
    3,023
    Likes Received:
    277
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    #2
    you should set an permant redirect from .xxx.com to www.xxx.com
     
    redhits, Aug 20, 2007 IP
  3. oseymour

    oseymour Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    92
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #3
    you should perform a redirect to the www version of yours site. Google sees these as different pages

    Options +FollowSymLinks
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} .
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^seo-rant\.com
    RewriteRule (.*) http://seo-rant.com/$1 [R=301,L]

    use the above code in your .htaccess file to do it....replace my domain name seo-rant.com with yours
     
    oseymour, Aug 20, 2007 IP
  4. brodaiga

    brodaiga Active Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    75
    #4
    thanks, I have been trying to do this for an hour and no success.

    with your code, I first entered as is, crowntutoring.com would work, www.crowntutoring.com would not work.

    So I then added:

    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} .
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^crowntutoring\.com
    RewriteRule (.*) http://www.crowntutoring.com/$1 [R=301,L]

    then crowntutoring.com does not work, while www.crowntutoring.com works. stupid thing.
     
    brodaiga, Aug 20, 2007 IP
  5. sitefever

    sitefever Banned

    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    You have http:// on the last line. Remove that and it will work.
     
    sitefever, Aug 20, 2007 IP
  6. brodaiga

    brodaiga Active Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    75
    #6
    i just tried:

    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} .
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^crowntutoring\.com
    RewriteRule (.*) www.crowntutoring.com/$1 [R=301,L]

    still no go, this is so strange, the www.crowntutoring.com does not work, and crowntutoring.com is not referring under these settings.
     
    brodaiga, Aug 20, 2007 IP
  7. sitefever

    sitefever Banned

    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Here's a copy of mine (I prefer to remove the www):

    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.sitefever.com$ [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://sitefever.com/$1 [R=301,L]

    I think yours is setup a little bit wrong. Here's what I would use for yours (leaving the www) using mine as an example:

    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^http://crowntutoring.com$ [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ www.crowntutoring.com/$1 [R=301,L]


    If that doesnt work, maybe your web host does not allow. htaccess files.
     
    sitefever, Aug 20, 2007 IP
  8. brodaiga

    brodaiga Active Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    75
    #8
    thanks for the help so far.

    the first suggestion causes a block again.

    The second suggestion causes no blocks, but nothing is forwarding??? right not it is set at:

    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^http://crowntutoring.com$ [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ www.crowntutoring.com/$1 [R=301,L]
     
    brodaiga, Aug 20, 2007 IP
  9. brodaiga

    brodaiga Active Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    75
    #9
    I just noticed you yours pointing in the opposite direction I want mine pointing, how should I change this?
     
    brodaiga, Aug 20, 2007 IP
  10. brodaiga

    brodaiga Active Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    75
    #10
    ok, more news, i tried this code of a webpage:

    Options +FollowSymlinks
    RewriteEngine on
    rewritecond %{http_host} ^crowntutoring.com [nc]
    rewriterule ^(.*)$ http://www.crowntutoring.com/$1 [r=301,nc]

    and in firefox, the crowntutoring.com refers to www.crowntutoring.com/public_html and it gives the error. why does it go to public_html?
     
    brodaiga, Aug 20, 2007 IP
  11. brodaiga

    brodaiga Active Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    75
    #11
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHh Finally got it

    listen up, I was accesing the wrong htaccess file, there are two of them on my server. when I modified the one in public_html problem was fixed, check it :cool:
     
    brodaiga, Aug 20, 2007 IP
  12. IEmailer.com

    IEmailer.com Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    27
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #12
    Hi, Try to use file level 301 Redirects in your default index page:

    If you are using PHP then add this code:
    ----------------------------------------------
    <?
    Header( "HTTP/1.1 301 Moved Permanently" );
    Header( "Location: http://www.new-url.com" );
    ?>
    ----------------------------------------------

    For ASP go with this one:
    ----------------------------------------------
    <%@ Language=VBScript %>
    <%
    Response.Status="301 Moved Permanently";
    Response.AddHeader("Location","http://www.new-url.com/");
    %>
    ----------------------------------------------

    And for ASP.NET use this one:
    ----------------------------------------------
    <script runat="server">
    private void Page_Load(object sender, System.EventArgs e)
    {
    Response.Status = "301 Moved Permanently";
    Response.AddHeader("Location","http://www.new-url.com");
    }
    </script>
    ----------------------------------------------
     
    IEmailer.com, Aug 20, 2007 IP
  13. IEmailer.com

    IEmailer.com Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    27
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #13
    Hi, It's good you got it working, I was replying so i hope others will find this information is useful.
     
    IEmailer.com, Aug 20, 2007 IP
  14. saadalgazzar

    saadalgazzar Peon

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    yes xxx.com different www.xxx.com
    the soloution to redirect xxx.com to www.xxx.com
     
    saadalgazzar, Aug 21, 2007 IP
  15. AbhishekSingh

    AbhishekSingh Peon

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    After redirection you need to develop link strategy at wwwdomain
     
    AbhishekSingh, Aug 21, 2007 IP
  16. brodaiga

    brodaiga Active Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    75
    #16
    so now after redirection, google will see that it is the same page and attribute links to both sites as if they were the same?
     
    brodaiga, Aug 21, 2007 IP
  17. IEmailer.com

    IEmailer.com Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    27
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #17
    Yes, Just in case it's redirected within 301 level as mentioned above then it will pass the linking as well as the pagerank to the new website.

    Usually this process take almost 4-6 months till all the pagerank value is passed on.
     
    IEmailer.com, Aug 21, 2007 IP
  18. oseymour

    oseymour Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    92
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #18
    Register for a Google webmaster tools account and verify your site....there is an option there to tell Google to show the www version of your site
     
    oseymour, Aug 21, 2007 IP
  19. DarkBrothers

    DarkBrothers Active Member

    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    37
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    #19
    DarkBrothers, Aug 21, 2007 IP
  20. pining_garcia

    pining_garcia Banned

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    In terms of backlink indexing, sites with www is different from sites without www.
     
    pining_garcia, Aug 21, 2007 IP