1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Data type mismatch error

Discussion in 'PHP' started by davanderbilt, Mar 19, 2007.

I have a php form that links up to an Access database where all of the fields are required and one of the fields asks for a date for females only. I can't figure out how to not require a value for this date field (first_day) if the person entering the form is male. I also don't want to have to put in a real date for a value if the person filling out the form is male, because then that means we have inaccurate data in the database. Here is some of the code I'm working with.

I've never tried to do this before so I thought I'd write a gender function and reference it further on below.

<script type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript">

function gender()
    {
    if (document.dlw.Gender.value == '2') {
    	document.dlw.first_day.value="00/00/00";
    	document.dlw.first_day.disabled=true;
    } 
    else {
    	document.dlw.first_day.disabled=false;
    }
    }

</script>

PHP:
    I need to be able to make first_day a fillable field only for females, so I created this and have it referencing the gender function above

<p align="justify"><strong><span class="style24">Are You Female?</span>
       <select name="Gender" id="Gender" onChange="gender()">
    	<option value="1">Yes</option>
    	<option value="2">No</option>
       </select>
    </strong></p>
    <p align="justify"><strong>Females only (Date of first day of menstrual cycle): </strong> (Format:01/01/07)
       <input name="first_day" type="text" id="first_day" ;"  size="10" maxlength="10">
    </p>

HTML: