1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Damn Form Elements :(

Discussion in 'CSS' started by papa_face, Sep 30, 2007.

  1. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #21
    #container #center .centerright {
    float:right;
    margin-top:6px;
    width:204px;
    }
    SEMrush
    Now add a value higher than 6 pixels to the top margin.
     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #22
    Please don't reply in here again because you obviously can't talk without swearing. I have tried what you said and it doesn't work.
    Thank you for the advice you gave me but I no longer require your advice.

    Anyone else please?
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  3. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #23
    I'm swearing because it took you 20-30 minutes to realize that it was * instead of BODY {}. Someone is slow. That someone is YOU.
     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  4. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #24
    I did do it, but on my localhost.
    I told you it did not make a difference and you didnt listen.
    Margin and padding 0 in the body is sufficient as everything on the screen is shown in the body element, regardless it didn't correct the problem anyway.
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  5. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #25
    Why are you arguing with someone who obviously has more knowledge about this topic than you?

    Problem: Form on the side (right below 'Sign Up For Our Newsletter') has inconsistent spacing in FF and IE.

    Solution:

    1. Remove the univeral reset
    2. Look at the page in IE6
    3. Add back the univeral reset
    4. Notice the different in spacing because of your zero'ing out all margins and paddings on elements
    5. Apply a margin-top on div.centerright form like so:

     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  6. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #26
    http://205.209.146.77/game.html

    In FF, IE6 and IE7. I have managed to do the right hand form in FF but not the others.

    Well now, "the others" should be fixed (if you're referring to the spacing right below 'Signup For Our Newsletter'). Some other crap like the top right search button and the buttons below the side form are still inconsistent.
     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  7. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #27
    Yeah, but I'm talking about the signup and reset buttons in IE, and the TOP form in FF (the go button is to high).
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  8. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #28
    According to your post after my first few replies, you said

    Meaning you were having difficulty with the spacing on the form. You NEVER mentioned buttons in any of the replies until now. I did what any normal person would have done and looked at your recent post where you stated your most recent "problem" and that was with spacing. Was I supposed to telepathically find out that you were specifically asking for buttons?
     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  9. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #29
    I was referring to the top bit in the header, not the entire code I thought that was obvious since you were providing me code to correct that part specifically :confused:
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  10. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #30
    Did you correctly copy my CSS? it was input#search-submit {} not input #search-submit{ }
     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  11. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #31
    Thanks that seems to work. What about the Signup and Reset buttons being out of line in IE6?
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  12. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #32
    Add the following to CSS.
    To

    Add display:inline; in both of those rules.

    Add an ID to the form for newsletter, so its

     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  13. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #33
    Thanks, but now its out of line in FF.
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  14. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #34
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  15. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #35
    Thanks for that. Ill correct that. But as I say it is now out of line in FF.
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  16. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #36
    Could you specifically tell me what you are referring to? The only thing "out of line" I can see is the spacing between the inputs which is what I think you are referring to.
     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  17. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #37
    Some more inconsistency fixing

    Double margins in IE.
     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  18. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
  19. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #39
    Is that LOCAL or LIVE? If it's local, then push it live so I can see the change. If it's live, then what version of FF are you using? Because using FF 2 I'm not seeing that.
     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  20. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #40
    FF 2.0.0.7 and it is live.
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP