1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Damn Form Elements :(

Discussion in 'CSS' started by papa_face, Sep 30, 2007.

  1. #1
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #2
    You are aware that you can have a CLASS and ID on the FORM element itself, right? Lose the extranneous/useless "div class="search" element you have inside the form, and do something like

    If you add horizontal margins then you will need to add display:inline; because you will encounter the double margin bug in MSIE6.

    For the submit input, add an ID (<input id="search-submit") and do something like

    And you probably already know how to do this, but to add the 2 or whatever # pixel border to your first input..

     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  3. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #3
    Thanks for that. I have updated the style file, but its still a bit off in FF.

    Any ideas about the lower form about the newsletter?
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  4. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #4
    Top margin?
     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  5. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #5
    If I change that it will move it down in IE, and it is perfect in IE though.....
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  6. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #6
    Are you using a universal reset? *{margin:0;padding:0;} at the top of stylesheet? This will make things more consistent so IE won't apply X value and FF/Opera/ETC won't apply Y value to the same element.
     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  7. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #7
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  8. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #8
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  9. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #9
    If you take a look at it you will see....
    I have definately done it:
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  10. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #10
    You have definitely not done it.

    Re-read my post please.
     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  11. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #11
    I've done what I think I'm supposed to do..
    Can you tell me what I'm supposed to do?
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  12. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #12
    Yes.

    Add the universal reset to the top of your stylesheet

    *{ margin:0; padding:0; }
     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  13. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #13
    I did!
    ^^^ right there
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  14. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #14
    Use your eyes

    You can do it!
     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  15. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #15
    What?!
    I have. You can't just paste what you say at the top. It has to be in selector. I have put it in the body element!

    Edit:
    I just did paste what you said, and it made no difference at all because I have already done it!
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  16. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #16
    I meant literally paste *{margin:0;padding:0;}

    * itself is the selector. NOT THE BODY ELEMENT. It targets ALL elements.
     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  17. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #17
    I DID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    It didn't make any difference ffs!

    I apologize to anyone else reading this, but wtf.
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  18. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #18
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  19. papa_face

    papa_face Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #19
    I'm talking about Firefox!
    As I said earlier:
    Its FF thats wrong, not IE...
     
    papa_face, Sep 30, 2007 IP
  20. soulscratch

    soulscratch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #20
    In Firefox it probably did jack shit because Firefox probably didn't have default margin/padding for whatever fucking element caused the spacing in IE6. What I'm trying to fucking say is that because of the reset, your FF and IE spacing at the form on the bottom right look more consistent. Now try adding a margin-top and they will have almost exactly the same amount of spacing.
     
    soulscratch, Sep 30, 2007 IP