1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Custom Options In Layered Navigation

Discussion in 'eCommerce' started by Jata, Jan 8, 2017.

Hello all,

I'm brand new to Magento and am looking to implement some custom layered navigation. By that I mean I want to be able to customize the navigation elements on the left hand side and determine what combinations of selections are possible. I also want to be able to specify SEO friendly URLs.

So my question is what's the best way to go about this?
    • Plugin? I'm aware of Amasty but it doesn't quite do what I want
    • Should I only be considering custom development for this?
    • What are the pros and cons of either approach?
    • What would be the impact on Magento updates?
    I work as a Java developer so am not averse to developing it myself but want to get an idea of my options.

Any advice greatly appreciated!

Jata, Jan 8, 2017 IP
  2. Nigel Lew

Nigel Lew Notable Member

Best Answers:
    Can you be a tad more specific as to what you want in the layered nav. I retired Magento a few years ago. That stuff is wildly complex for no real reason. You can do the same stuff with woo commerce these days at a fraction of the cost and time involved.

Happy to help though,
    Nigel

Nigel Lew, Jan 8, 2017 IP
  3. Jata

Jata Greenhorn

Best Answers:
    Certainly. We're running with a vanilla installation at the moment so no customisations whatsoever.

Manufacturer