1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

CSS: what's the bast way to do things?

Discussion in 'CSS' started by KewL, Feb 13, 2014.

Hey guys, I've been coding websites in html/css for a few years now. My code always works, but I feel like it's horrible and there's much better ways to do things. Here's my question (I run into this all the time):

Say my website has like 3-4 differently styled h2's, how would i go about styling theme in CSS?

Here's a couple options my brain goes to, I'm wondering if one of these is the best, or if there's a better way I'm missing.

Option #1: Have each unique h2 have a class, put the global styles in the normal h2 styling, and the unique stuff in the h2.class:

h2 {
    color: black;
    }

h2.sidebar {
    font-size: 2em;
    }

h2:leftcol {
    font-size: 2.5em;
    }

Code (markup):
    Option #2: Should I even put classes on the h2's? if the html looks like this?

<div class="leftcol">
    <h2>Heading</h2>
    </div>

<div class="sidebar">
    <h2>Sidebar Heading</h2>
    </div>

Code (markup):
    So the other option would be:

h2 {
    color: black
    }

.sidebar h2 {
    font-size: 2em;
    }

.leftcol h2 {
    font-size: 2.5em;
    }

Code (markup):
    I'm sure theres a hundred ways to do this, this doesn't just apply to headings, but everything. I want my code to be consistent, and easily read. What should I stick to by?

------------------------

I guess I'll throw in a second question, I don't see the point in using em's over px or %'s. Everyone says it's better but I don't understand why. How's it any different than doing this?

body {
    font-size: 100%;
    }

h1 {
    font-size: 250%;
    }

h2 {
    font-size: 150%;
    }

Code (markup):