1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

CSS layout. hand coded or copy and paste?

Discussion in 'CSS' started by tummytom10, Mar 10, 2015.

I'm new to web design and have been studying for a little while making simple sites. I've been watching a couple of different tutorials and seen different ways to code. I've seen ppl hand code their sites in the videos and then I've seen people copy and paste from sites such as getbootstrap. So my question: is it better to try and hand code everything from scratch or is it better to copy and paste different parts because it's more efficient?

tummytom10, Mar 10, 2015 IP
  2. PoPSiCLe

PoPSiCLe Illustrious Member

Best Answers:
    That depends what you want to do. Personally, I always recommend hand-coding, as it means you have 100% control of all aspects. However, there's no reason not to copy stuff that works, but copying CSS will only work if your HTML-code is the same as well (or at least fairly similar) - hence it might not be feasible to just copy bits of CSS. The important bits would be to create a proper HTML-page FIRST, THEN style it using CSS (which usually means handcoding).

PoPSiCLe, Mar 11, 2015 IP
  3. serialentre

serialentre Member

Best Answers:
    Handcoding for sure! Like you - I started learning thinking that I don't need to learn everything. Copying and pasting might do the trick. But I've learnt that if you do so, some codes MIGHT conflict with each other. And you might face code bloat too. For example, having 3 classes and 1 ID in ONE div element. It's something that Deathshadow often mentions.

Handcoding from scratch lets you learn more, and like what PoPSiCle say - you have 100% control of all aspects.