1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Creating a Online Store When I only stock one of each product.

Discussion in 'eCommerce' started by Boldonglen, Jan 13, 2016.

Hi,

I am currently thinking about starting an online store for my parents business. They have a small childrens clothing store in the North East of England and I feel that they would do really well on-line.

As a Software Developer I am going to create the site myself and help to run/maintain it. The issue I have is that the shop only keeps stock of one of each size for each item.

So for example if we have a product called "Red Jumper" and it comes in the sizes "S", "M" and "L", we would only have one of each of these:

1 x "Red Jumper - Size S"
    1 x "Red Jumper - Size M"
    1 x "Red Jumper - Size L"

I can program the site to show that the products are out of stock if someone buys that item but do you think that this would look bad? Say someone comes to the online store and wants a Red Jumper and the sizes S and M have already been sold this only leaves the customer with one option "L".

Another issue I am trying to get around is the fact that some of the items we would like to put on the online store are also sold in the actual store. If we sell an item in the store how can we automatically update this in the online store so we dont have two purchases of the same item when we only have 1 in stock?

Thanks for any help or advice.

Boldonglen

Boldonglen, Jan 13, 2016 IP
  2. TheThriftyVaper

TheThriftyVaper Member

Best Answers:
    Hi Boldonglen,