So, I'm getting a ton of clicks on my internet video related site. However, I'm only seeing a CPM of less than $2. With my spectacular click through rate, I'm getting less than $.02 per click. 2 cents per click! What a joke- anyone else ever heard of such bad numbers?
Entertainment, game, and video sites have a notoriously low CTR since visitors are there to be entertained and aren't in buying mode. Also, there are no real products associated with these categories except perhaps DVDs/CDs with the entertainment site.
NO, the problem is not CTR... I get a 15 % CTR and thousands of clicks per day on this site. The problem is that all of a sudden, literally overnight, my site went from consistently having a CPM of $9 to a CPM of $2. Why could that be? It looks like the same ads on the adsense panels.
Why does adsense even show CPM? Cost per thosand, what does that have to do with CPC? Aren't ads sold on google on amount of clicks basis? Excuse me for being mis-informed. BTW, I have also noticed a big decrease in revenue.
The eCPM could be affected by some bidders reaching their allocated spend. Also turning off the ad campaigns at certain times as well as finishing higher paid campaigns. Due to the nature of the entertainment section,wild fluctuations should be expected - unless it was brought about by any recent google changes.
eCPM is estimated CPM. So if you got 1 visit and 1 click getting you $1, your eCPM would be $1000 but it would be unlikely your actual CPM would be the same.
It's funny... I've noticed that for the past few weeks, every day has much lower CPM except for Mondays. Very, Very Depressing......
eCPM is the effective cost per 1000 impressions. It is not the actual CPM. The eCPM can be used by publishers to judge how their earnings per page are working out. They may decide to pull adverts off a very low eCPM page. The eCPM may be low due to low paying adverts being displayed, low CTR, or being a landing page with little content or mainly for navigation purposes directs people to different areas of the website. The actual CPM is the cost per 1000 impressions for an advert which is set by advertisers... so they may set a figure $2.50 CPM. Every 1000 times it is displayed will cost the advertiser $2.50 and the publisher will accumulate a small fraction of this each time it appears on their website. In terms of a publishers CPM, it would be based on 1000 page views, or 1000 ad-displays. Overall, it can be used to help reduce poor performing pages and increase account CTR and hopefully lead to greater revenue being gained.