1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Count increment revise number if same item number

Discussion in 'C#' started by may07, Sep 11, 2007.

  1. #1
    Hello,

    Can anybody help as below:

    1. User fill in E1234 at the first time
    2. When second time fill in same item number E1234, it's will auto
    add revise number and become E1234-Revise 1
    3 If third time fill in the same item number E1234, it will increment the revise number 3 and become E1234-Revise 3

    It's will auto increment the revise number if the user still fill in the same item number. The revise number is the purpose to detect same item number fill in by the user

    Thanks
     
    may07, Sep 11, 2007 IP
  2. Indian_Webmaster

    Indian_Webmaster Banned

    Messages:
    1,289
    Likes Received:
    61
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Check the first four character using Left(string,4) and increment it if found the same Item.
     
    Indian_Webmaster, Sep 12, 2007 IP
  3. JenniP

    JenniP Peon

    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    15
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Depending on how many items your planning to store it may be better to seperate the item number and its revision number.

    IE Store your item number in one column (The E1234 part) and the revision number (as a numeric column) in another.

    The reason for doing this is it becomes more efficient later to search for it, you can search for all item E1234's without doing a like search which would make indexing more efficient.

    Also you get around the problem with using a string as the item number and sorting

    IE

    E1234-Revision-1
    E1234-Revision-6
    E1234-Revision-10
    E1234-Revision-30

    When you sort it and bring it back you get

    E1234-Revision-1
    E1234-Revision-10
    E1234-Revision-30
    E1234-Revision-6

    Which may not be what you want.

    Jen
     
    JenniP, Sep 13, 2007 IP
  4. may07

    may07 Peon

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Hi,

    Please refer file "Newrequest" and file "Result" which i attached. Please paste in frontpage and you may see my interface.

    Let's me explain the file Newrequest:

    1. User may select New Request or Revised item
    2. User will select Revise Item if fill in same item number that alrdy have in database

    File "Result:

    The function that i want to do is auto count how many same item number have key in file "Result". If same item number it will auto count revise-1 and coutinue add revised number-2 if still other user fill in same item number .Can anybody help me? Please help me to write the syntax coding as well as i am new to ASP. Thanks

    Hope to hear from anybody soon as i am very keen to learn it. Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    may07, Sep 13, 2007 IP
  5. may07

    may07 Peon

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    First page

    i. Customer fill up the "PART" textbox
    ii.Customer must select Revised item drop down list
    Customer choose revised item because the part already exist in database



    <td bgcolor="#f4f4f4" height="26"><b><font size="2" face="Arial">&nbsp;Part Number</font></b></td>
    <td bgcolor="#f4f4f4" height="26"><font face="Arial"><b>:</b>
    <input name="part" type="text" size="20" id="part" onchange="upperCase(this.id)" maxlength="10">

    <td width="92" bgcolor="#f4f4f4"><b><font size="2" face="Arial">&nbsp;Type</font></b></td>
    <td bgcolor="#f4f4f4"><!--<font face="Arial"><input name="type" size=25 value="New_Request"></font><b><font size="2" color="#0033CC" face="Arial"> </font></b></td>-->
    <b><font face="Arial" size="2">:</font>
    <!--<font face="Arial" size="2" color="#0000FF" onmouseover=this.style.color='red' onmouseout=this.style.color='#0000FF'> New Item</font></b>-->
    <!--<input name="typedia" type="text" readonly id="typedia" value="New Item" onmouseover=this.style.color='red' onmouseout=this.style.color='#0000FF' style="font-weight: bold; color:#0000FF">-->
    <select name="typedia" style="text-align: center; width:165" size="1">
    <option value="">Please select type</option>
    <option value="Revised Item">Revised Request</option>
    <option value="New Item" selected>New Request</option>
    <font face="Arial">
    </select></b><b><font color=red>Ù­</font>&nbsp;

    </TD>




    Second page post in database access:

    dim part, tarikh, msg, greenlight
    part = request.form("part")
    typedia = request.form("typedia")


    Dim hits
    Dim DB
    Dim strSOL
    Dim RS
    SET DB=Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
    DB.Open "DRIVER={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)}; DBQ=" & Server.MapPath("guestbooks.mdb")
    Set RS=Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")

    part= replace(part," ","")
    strSQL = "Select * from books WHERE part IN ('" & part & "') AND status NOT IN ('Cancel') AND publisher NOT IN ('New Item');"

    'response.write strSQL
    RS.CursorType = 2
    RS.LockType = 3
    RS.Open strSQL, DB

    DO while NOT RS.EOF
    msg = msg & " " & part & " already exist in database "

    'goto a
    RS.MoveNext
    Loop

    IF part== then
    msg = " Revised added "
    END IF
    if typedia = "" then
    if msg <> "" then
    msg = msg &" and REQUEST TYPE"
    else
    msg = " Please Select REQUEST TYPE"
    end if
    end if


    Note: The new one replace the existing one with simply a higher revision number

    Can anyone show me the way to loop revised iten if meet same part?

    For example:

    User 1

    Fill in:

    Part: E1234
    Type: Revised item-1

    User 2 also fill in same part then revised item increment 1

    For example:

    Part: E1234
    Type: Revised item-2

    Hope to hear from u soon.. Thanks
     
    may07, Sep 22, 2007 IP
  6. AstarothSolutions

    AstarothSolutions Peon

    Messages:
    2,680
    Likes Received:
    77
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    As per my reply to your private message, to do what you want you need to add a new field into the table with the type number

    When the form is posted back in your UPDATE command simply have fieldname = (fieldname + 1)

    Whilst I know you asked for me to write it all for you it really is for you to do if you are learning ASP (plus I am personally not a programmer) and without knowing the db and form structure it wouldnt be possible to write it for you.

    If you want one of our programmers to do it then we can quote for you.
     
    AstarothSolutions, Sep 22, 2007 IP
  7. blueparukia

    blueparukia Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    71
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #7
    So you got a private message too hey?
    How many people did you PM?

    BP
     
    blueparukia, Sep 22, 2007 IP
  8. may07

    may07 Peon

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Hi,

    Please ignore this topic as i already completed. Thanks
     
    may07, Sep 22, 2007 IP