1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Confusion in getting started with dropshipping store

Discussion in 'eCommerce' started by Reina Blocker, May 7, 2017.

Hello:

This is my first attempt at truly getting out of the "employee mentality" and I am trying to branch out into the world of drop shipping. I've been following the forums for some time until I've gotten some funds together to actually begin this journey. I am confused by the steps I need to take as there are so many options out there.

So...here's what I know:

1.) domain name
    2.) Wordpress
    3.) Plugin to import my products
    4.) supplier

For wordpress, at the most basic level, do I need shopify or something similar for it to work as my webstore or can I simply use wordpress and the plugin to add products?

I'm trying not to get overwhelmed because I know this is simpler that I'm making it, but I want to make sure that I make the best use of the small funds that I do have to invest.

Any help would be truly appreciated.

Reina Blocker, May 7, 2017 IP
  2. JoeSpirit

JoeSpirit Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    What is the plugin and a brief description of its function? It might be enough by itself. If it pulls in products automatically you want to be careful of your site's Inode usage. In my experience plugins that go get product images, descriptions, and the like, and then post them on auto tend to drive your usage numbers up quick.

Also, if you pull in the products manually you'll want to make sure you delete obsolete postings as products disappear from the dropshipper's inventory.