1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

confused about ads

Discussion in 'AdSense' started by fbernard, Feb 26, 2005.

  1. #1
    My site is displaying ads for power cords, but my site is about geeky games, toys, comics, etc.
    I don't get it.
    SEMrush
     
    fbernard, Feb 26, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. NeoGen

    NeoGen Writer

    Messages:
    2,304
    Likes Received:
    301
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #2
    Check on keywords weight of your website. As adsense delivers ad on the basis of text available on your site!
     
    NeoGen, Feb 26, 2005 IP
  3. fbernard

    fbernard Peon

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    not one word on my site says "power" or "cord", yet all my ads are for power cords.
     
    fbernard, Feb 26, 2005 IP
  4. nullbit

    nullbit Peon

    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    19
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    AdSense has a feature to exclude certain advertisers by URL, you could use that, until all the power cord ads have gone. I did the same thing on one of my sites, after excluding a load of URLs, I ended up with ads, which were actually relevant!
     
    nullbit, Feb 26, 2005 IP
  5. nriweb

    nriweb Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #5
    what is the url of the page? we can have a look and maybe we can tell u why !!

     
    nriweb, Feb 26, 2005 IP
  6. fbernard

    fbernard Peon

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    http://www.mygeekyplace.com/
     
    fbernard, Feb 26, 2005 IP
  7. Mia

    Mia R.I.P. STEVE JOBS

    Messages:
    23,694
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    440
    #7
    No PR, no backlinks, not listed in any search engines that I can see.

    Sandbox

    BTW, all I see are PSA's.
     
    Mia, Feb 26, 2005 IP
  8. fbernard

    fbernard Peon

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    what are backlinks?
     
    fbernard, Feb 26, 2005 IP
  9. Mia

    Mia R.I.P. STEVE JOBS

    Messages:
    23,694
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    440
    #9
    a backlink is a link back to the page or one of the pages that currently link to the page you're using. Backlinks are particularly helpful in getting your site indexed by SE's as well as getting PR to your site. The more (good/high PR) bl's you have the easier it will be for an SE to spider through your site.

    In any event many SE's (google included) consider the number of backlinks and relevancy of those backlinks to your page as a way of determining placement of your page in the SERPs.

    You can see your backlinks by typing: link:www.your-site.com in a Google Search window.
     
    Mia, Feb 26, 2005 IP
  10. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,605
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    370
    #10
    I do see the power codrd ads. Have no idea why
     
    fryman, Feb 26, 2005 IP
  11. Josh

    Josh Peon

    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    82
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    One of the ads I see is xbox power cord.. so its possible that they are all advertising for the keyword xbox?


    Josh
     
    Josh, Feb 26, 2005 IP
  12. fbernard

    fbernard Peon

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    this is driving me nuts. my site has nothing to do with power cords
     
    fbernard, Feb 28, 2005 IP
  13. NeoGen

    NeoGen Writer

    Messages:
    2,304
    Likes Received:
    301
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #13
    Another interesting point:

    If I go through:

    http://mygeekyplace.com

    I see ads related to Xbox and related to your site.

    But if I go through http://www.mygeekyplace.com

    I see ads related to power cord, international cables and so on.

    Pretty confusing :confused:
     
    NeoGen, Feb 28, 2005 IP
  14. joshril

    joshril Guest

    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    Does Adsense automatically detect the best ads to display??

    -Josh
     
    joshril, Feb 28, 2005 IP
  15. fbernard

    fbernard Peon

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    weird, I wonder why...
     
    fbernard, Feb 28, 2005 IP
  16. protesto

    protesto Peon

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    I'm not sure that your site is already spidered by adsensebot. I've used adsense sandbox tool for the keywords 'power cord' and it shows a lot of adsense links. This means there keywords are very competitive and maybe Google shows these ads by default before your site is spidered.
    Btw, I couldn't find your site on google, do not forget to submit your site:
    *http://www.google.com/addurl/
     
    protesto, Mar 1, 2005 IP
  17. fbernard

    fbernard Peon

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    I did, last week. I don't know how long it takes.
     
    fbernard, Mar 1, 2005 IP
  18. maverick

    maverick Peon

    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    Might be the links you have on your site have something to do with Power Chords! Or might be in the past you had these keywords at some point on your site.

    Surprizingly google is soooo slow to update the AdSense Ads... the same thing happened to me too.

    If you look at http://aboos.blogspot.com; you will see all "ebay" ads... now there is nothing related to ebay in my blog now... but in the past, I had a post related to "ebay announcement" .. and thats what made AdSense think that my content is still about "ebay"
     
    maverick, Mar 1, 2005 IP
  19. fbernard

    fbernard Peon

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    Thanks, last week, I posted something about the Xbox replacement cord. How long does it take to update itself?
     
    fbernard, Mar 1, 2005 IP
  20. pg20706

    pg20706 Peon

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    If you modify a page with Adsense on it, the page might carry the old ads for weeks. It happened to me once. Ask Shawn. He knows how to get targeted Ads for a page with dynamic contents.
     
    pg20706, Mar 1, 2005 IP