1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.
  2. Better Analytics for WordPress Get It Free

Cold Fusion version of Coop Ad Network Code

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by Nitin M, Aug 22, 2004.

  1. #1
    Shawn --- hope this is okay to post... if not, let me know how you would prefer it get out to people that need it.

    The code in the attached file should be saved as ad_network.cfm in the root directory of the website. Also create a file name ad_network_ads.txt in the root directory and initialize it with a 0 (the number zero).

    Then in your footer, add the following lines:

    <cfinclude template="./ad_network.cfm">
    <cfoutput>#ad_network#</cfoutput>

    Any problems/bugs, post them here. I have it running on one site I just added to the network and seems to be running fine.
     
    Nitin M, Aug 22, 2004 IP
  2. dazzlindonna

    dazzlindonna Peon

    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    21
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Thanks so much! Shawn, I've set this up, and it appears that it will work, but my new account needs manual validation, as auto validation doesn't work. Can you do that? Thanks!
     
    dazzlindonna, Aug 22, 2004 IP
  3. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,749
    Likes Received:
    2,407
    Best Answers:
    415
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #3
    What's the URL you are running it on?
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 22, 2004 IP
  4. dazzlindonna

    dazzlindonna Peon

    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    21
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    dazzlindonna, Aug 22, 2004 IP
  5. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,749
    Likes Received:
    2,407
    Best Answers:
    415
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #5
    Actually, you are already validated... were just talking about your individual ad being approved (which it is now)?
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 22, 2004 IP
  6. dazzlindonna

    dazzlindonna Peon

    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    21
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Somehow it got validated between the time I asked the question and you answered it. :)
     
    dazzlindonna, Aug 22, 2004 IP
  7. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,749
    Likes Received:
    2,407
    Best Answers:
    415
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #7
    Wasn't from me, would have had to been from your end. :)
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 22, 2004 IP
  8. dazzlindonna

    dazzlindonna Peon

    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    21
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    I'm getting old and very forgetful. Perhaps I magically did something to make it happen, and don't remember. In any case, it's all working beautifully.
     
    dazzlindonna, Aug 22, 2004 IP
  9. amaze

    amaze Active Member

    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #9
    Any update to this file to accomadate Shawns changes?!
     
    amaze, Jan 8, 2005 IP
  10. Nitin M

    Nitin M White/Gray/Black Hat

    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    93
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Sorry all... working on it right now... hopefully be posting it in the next couple of hours ...
     
    Nitin M, Jan 11, 2005 IP
  11. Stretch

    Stretch Peon

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Good news Nitin M. Thanks in advance.
     
    Stretch, Jan 11, 2005 IP
  12. Nitin M

    Nitin M White/Gray/Black Hat

    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    93
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    I wouldn't usually post without a bit more testing but I get the feeling a couple of people might be waiting on this ...

    I think the code is fairly well documented, so if you need to tweak the appearance of multiple ads, you would do that at around line 83.

    Change the filename to ad_network.cfm, of course. I could not get the system working with a blank or non-existent ad_network_ads.txt file, so use the attached starter file.

    If all works as it should, you should see all the parameters in the ad_network_ads.txt get changed (the only info in the baseline ad_network_ads.txt file) except the IP address after the first pageview is performed.

    I'll try to be on a few times today/tomorrow if anyone has problems installing this...
     
    Nitin M, Jan 12, 2005 IP
  13. Stretch

    Stretch Peon

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    Seems to be working great for me Nitin :)
     
    Stretch, Jan 13, 2005 IP
  14. amaze

    amaze Active Member

    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #14
    Yeah works fine for me but after a while the "ad_network.php file needs updating" message appears?!
     
    amaze, Jan 14, 2005 IP
  15. Stretch

    Stretch Peon

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    It doesn't appear to be doing that for me. My ad_network_ads.txt is now 28kb and the update message is not in it. I'll keep checking though.
     
    Stretch, Jan 14, 2005 IP
  16. Nitin M

    Nitin M White/Gray/Black Hat

    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    93
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    I haven't seen this on my sites. But, I did post the code very early ... before any of my own sites had reached the full cache size.

    I'll step through and do some more testing. If you want to email me your ad_network_ads.txt file that would be helpful in figuring out why you're seeing what you're seeing.

    nitin[@]ultimaterank.com

    <edit - ADDED>

    Did you edit the ad_network.cfm file in any way? On the footer of one of the sites in your sig I see the message "Unable to Retrieve" which I am guessing is the error handler I put in. But, in the original file I have posted the message is "Unable to Retrieve Ad", so I am wondering if you made any modifications to the file. In the cfcatch you can simply change the type from "any" to "xx" to see the full error messages if you are working on some tweaks to the code.

    </edit>

    Thanks!
     
    Nitin M, Jan 14, 2005 IP
  17. amaze

    amaze Active Member

    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #17
    Werid seems (fingers crossed) to be OK now I think I had a rouge version kicking about!
     
    amaze, Jan 14, 2005 IP
  18. H-Man

    H-Man Peon

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    I still can't get the tag to validate. http://www.hobza.com

    The adds are at the bottom of the page. Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance.

    Dave
     
    H-Man, Jan 14, 2005 IP
  19. Stretch

    Stretch Peon

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    Ads need to be on every page to validate.
     
    Stretch, Jan 14, 2005 IP
  20. H-Man

    H-Man Peon

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    Then how come when I click on some of the ads, there aren't any ads on the page? Isn't the validator just checking the one page?
     
    H-Man, Jan 17, 2005 IP