1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Code challenged

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by eddie, Nov 3, 2004.

  1. #1
    Does anyone know of or have a service to add the coop network to my site.

    Thanks
    SEMrush
     
    eddie, Nov 3, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Patient

    Patient Raider

    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    123
    #2
    Hi Eddie

    I am sure you will find people here will help. What is your url?

    <edit>
    I should learn to read sigs - don't use them myself you see.
    </edit>
     
    Patient, Nov 3, 2004 IP
  3. eddie

    eddie snowrider

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    138
    #3
    eddie, Nov 3, 2004 IP
  4. Patient

    Patient Raider

    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    123
    #4
    As it happens I have just added the ads to a html website. This assumes that you can run php and use .htaccess files.

    If you can you have come to the right place.
     
    Patient, Nov 3, 2004 IP
  5. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #5
    ResaleBroker, Nov 3, 2004 IP
  6. eddie

    eddie snowrider

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    138
    #6
    My site supports php 4.3.6

    I have created www.pegandrail.com/ad_network.php file but I do not think I did it correctly

    I have also created www.penadrail.com/ad_network_ads.txt file I am sure the chom comand is not correct

    and i do not seem to be able to creat a .htaccess file

    my site is not php based or shtml based

    I am sure this should all be a fairly simple operation unfortunatly it is all above my head. I am sure someone who knows what they are doing could set this up in a matter of min. and all i would need is the code to add to the bottom of all my pages to get this up and running.

    Thanks
     
    eddie, Nov 3, 2004 IP
  7. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #7
    Eddie,
    If your site is not PHP or SHTML I do not believe this will work for you. Sorry.

    DigitalPoint: "Currently the types of sites that are accepted are vBulletin 2.x and vBulletin 3.x forums, phpBB 2.x forums, Movable Type blogs, Blogger blogs or any site that supports PHP."
     
    ResaleBroker, Nov 3, 2004 IP
  8. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #8
    The PHP stuff is working... you have the ad_network.php and ad_network_ads.txt stuff working fine. But you need to be able to integrate it with your site now.
     
    digitalpoint, Nov 3, 2004 IP
  9. Patient

    Patient Raider

    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    123
    #9
    Hi Ed

    The first thing to do is to get your html pages processing php. If things go real easy you can do this by creating a .htaccess file. Just open notepad and type in:

    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .html

    Save this as .htaccess (not .htaccess.txt just .htaccess) and upload it to the same folder as your index.html page is in. Check that your site still works if not delete the .htaccess file and let us know.

    Then add this to your index.html:

    <?php echo 'yes'; ?>

    If this works you will see yes in your index.html page and we are ready for step 2.

    If not we will need to try other variations of the .htaccess file to discover which method (if any) is supported by your host.

    My apologies must I must go now as MUFC are on the telly. I will check in again tomorrow. If the .htaccess file crashes your site just delete it.


    If there is a moderator here can you let me know if there is a way to create a file or post that all members can edit. If so I would be happy to create a "how to" guide for the various server and script configurations that I have come across and enable others to enhance it with their own.
     
    Patient, Nov 3, 2004 IP
  10. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #10
    There isn't a way to make a post/thread publicly editable with vBulletin.
     
    digitalpoint, Nov 3, 2004 IP
  11. eddie

    eddie snowrider

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    138
    #11


    Glad to hear I got the php stuff right.

    My host says
    Thank you for contacting us.

    We're sorry, the .htaccess file access you are mentioning is not
    currently available through Yahoo! Web Hosting and we do not have an
    estimated date as to when or if it will be available. However, we'll
    pass your comments on to our Development team for further
    consideration.

    Unless there is some other way to do this I am out of luck
    Thanks for your help
     
    eddie, Nov 3, 2004 IP