1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

CHMOD Permissions at Godaddy.com

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by Marcus_Westberg, Dec 1, 2005.

  1. #1
    Hi everyone!
    I thought it would be a great idea to start using some hosting at Godaddy.com not just storing domains....

    Now to the problem I can´t change the CHMOD code in my FTP program (Cute FTP)

    I assigned permissions in the Godaddy CP to be able to change to 777 in certain directories and files but it wont allow me to...

    And when i log in to my domain with CUTE FTP I am always redirected to a folder named with my user name. why????

    Anyone know how to change this????
    As it is right now I can´t install my new script which is wery boring.....
    SEMrush
    / Marcus
     
    Marcus_Westberg, Dec 1, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Julie

    Julie Guest

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    is your question with godaddy or with cuteftp?
     
    Julie, Dec 1, 2005 IP
  3. Marcus_Westberg

    Marcus_Westberg Peon

    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    30
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    My question is about godaddy.com since I have access to CHMOD on all of my other domains (All not registered at godaddy.com)
    I also use the same program (cute ftp 6.0) to modify my other domains...

    I never had any problems with this before so it must have something to do with godaddy.com
     
    Marcus_Westberg, Dec 1, 2005 IP
  4. viper

    viper Peon

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    What hosting pkg did you select with your GoDaddy account?

    Apparently, the .asp version doesn't recognize the chmod command.
     
    viper, Sep 3, 2006 IP
  5. Marcus_Westberg

    Marcus_Westberg Peon

    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    30
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Hi!
    This is a very old thread and I already solved the problem long time ago, thanks anyway....
     
    Marcus_Westberg, Sep 3, 2006 IP
  6. jhillen

    jhillen Peon

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    I'm also with Godaddy.com. How did you end up solving it
     
    jhillen, Sep 15, 2006 IP
  7. america2

    america2 Peon

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Call godaddy ask their support technicians what the problem is. I have a bunch of servers and taht happens to me all the time. I have to go in as root and chmod manually. But since you can't do that you should call them :)
     
    america2, Sep 16, 2006 IP
  8. Marcus_Westberg

    Marcus_Westberg Peon

    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    30
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    I emailed Godaddy support and after that it worked. I guess somethoing just went wrong and they manually fixed it.
     
    Marcus_Westberg, Oct 28, 2006 IP
  9. Pat Gael

    Pat Gael Banned

    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    68
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Apart of old thread, this must be a joke since GoDaddy service is noticeable for its lack of support.

    However I can see that never were mentioned the type of hosting service.

    You cannot chmod via FTP if you are hosted on a Windows server that does not work as Linux, but might require enabling write on directories and files.
     
    Pat Gael, Nov 12, 2006 IP
  10. h4nh4n

    h4nh4n Peon

    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    16
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    I can change chmod easily to 777, I'm using linux shared hosting...
    Their supports are realible IMO, always get answers within an hour or a day...
     
    h4nh4n, Nov 13, 2006 IP
  11. seo-mumbai

    seo-mumbai Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    183
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #11
    godaddy hase seperate cp and different setup if u cant change from there cp just inform them some bug i guss later u can change.
     
    seo-mumbai, Nov 13, 2006 IP
  12. saadahmed007

    saadahmed007 Admínistratör

    Messages:
    5,273
    Likes Received:
    869
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    380
    #12
    If you have ssh acess just run this command in ssh
    chmod filename 777 (777 is just example you can change to whatever you want) :)
    Saad
     
    saadahmed007, Nov 13, 2006 IP
  13. set2001

    set2001 Peon

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    You cannot change the CHMOD settings of the root folder with godaddy if you are a shared plan. They make you upgrade to virtual dedicated which is about 25$/month. Best way is to create another directory and work from there.

    Steve
     
    set2001, Mar 17, 2011 IP
  14. jasonsluck

    jasonsluck Peon

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    I just used filezilla to change it, just right click on the file and select the option that says "file permission" hope this helps!
     
    jasonsluck, May 12, 2011 IP