1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Chitika context??

Discussion in 'Chitika' started by raven2424, Oct 8, 2005.

  1. #1
    I read on probloggers blog that you need to disable somthing in chitika to say within the TOS of google adsense when i look at my account i cant see anything that needs to be disabled maybe i am missing or over looking somthing any help would be great via pm or reply here thanks.
     
    raven2424, Oct 8, 2005 IP
  2. JoeO

    JoeO Peon

    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Add this line to your chitika code (it mentions this in the faq):
    ch_query = "Keyword here";
     
    JoeO, Oct 8, 2005 IP
  3. raven2424

    raven2424 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #3
    so using eminimalls and adsense on same page is ok i dont need to edit anything???
     
    raven2424, Oct 8, 2005 IP
  4. izahan

    izahan Peon

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    if you don't edit anything, then it is not okay. Like JoeO said, you have to edit the script by at least inserting ch_query = "keyword" where keyword is the thing you want to target (e.g. digital camera). Then you will be okay with google.
     
    izahan, Oct 8, 2005 IP
  5. raven2424

    raven2424 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #5
    ahh ok perfect thanks for the help :)
     
    raven2424, Oct 8, 2005 IP
  6. Storyteller1

    Storyteller1 Peon

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    As per the email I received from Google this morning, in order to run Chitika ads alongside AdSense, you must BOTH:

    1) Disable Chitika's contextual-ad ability:

    Add "ch_non_contextual = 1" and "ch_query="[YOUR KEYWORD]" "to the Chitika script.

    2) Disable Chitika's Search function:

    Add "ch_nosearch = 1;" to the Chitika script.

    Everyone has discussed #1. Not many folks are mentioning #2.

    Google's email to me was quite specific on these points.
     
    Storyteller1, Oct 8, 2005 IP
  7. raven2424

    raven2424 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #7
    can you add more than one keyword or is it limited to just the one keyword
     
    raven2424, Oct 9, 2005 IP
  8. izahan

    izahan Peon

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    I learned this from one of the threads here but I forgot which one:

    var ch_queries = new Array('keyword1', 'keyword2', 'keyword3');
    var ch_selected = Math.floor((Math.random() * ch_queries.length));
    ch_query = ch_queries[ch_selected];

    This way, you can cycle through several ads everytime your page loads but still obey Google's ToS.
     
    izahan, Oct 9, 2005 IP
  9. raven2424

    raven2424 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #9
    could you display the full code cause im not sure how to implement it
     
    raven2424, Oct 9, 2005 IP
  10. LcF

    LcF Peon

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Here is the sample code. This will display a non-contextual Chitika eminimalls ads with keywords (laptop & ipod).

    
    <script type="text/javascript"><!--
    ch_client = "[B]USERID[/B]";
    ch_width = 160;
    ch_height = 160;
    ch_non_contextual = 1;
    var ch_queries = new Array('[B]laptop[/B]', '[B]ipod[/B]');
    var ch_selected=Math.floor((Math.random()*ch_queries.length));
    //--></script>
    <script  src="http://scripts.chitika.net/eminimalls/mm.js" type="text/javascript">
    </script>
    Code (markup):
    I have other Chitika eminimalls tips at http://www.liewcf.com/blog/archives/2005/10/make-money-with-chitika/
     
    LcF, Oct 9, 2005 IP
  11. raven2424

    raven2424 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #11
    i see you are not using the no search
    ch_nosearch = 1;

    Storyteller1
    says that you should because thats what google has told him
     
    raven2424, Oct 9, 2005 IP
  12. webbom

    webbom Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #12
    Do the people at chitika are ok with this code modification? Have anyone asked them?


    Haaa, nevermind, I found the answer myself. It is ok for them, according to this blog. http://pchere.blogspot.com/2005/09/chitika-eminimalls-google-adsense-on.html
     
    webbom, Oct 9, 2005 IP
  13. webbom

    webbom Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #13
    This chitika program is really great.

    I don't know why I have a felling that soon we will be seeing websites with list of top paying chitika keywords :rolleyes: LOL
     
    webbom, Oct 9, 2005 IP
  14. LcF

    LcF Peon

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    Yes, pleasae add ch_nosearch
     
    LcF, Oct 10, 2005 IP