1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Centos cPanel Segmentation Fault 11 Apache logs

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by wrekoniz3, Mar 30, 2012.

  1. #1
    in the apache logs i see a lot of "segmentation fault 11" and the tmp directory where the core dump is happens to be filling up with dore dumps.

    Also i have been experiencing higher than usual memory usage.


    This might have something to do with it.


    How can i fix the segmentation fault errors? and what do they mean?



    -Wrekoniz3
     
    wrekoniz3, Mar 30, 2012 IP
  2. TSH

    TSH Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    100
    #2
    It means you are maxing out memory. You should analyze the core dumps to find out what is causing this.
     
    TSH, Mar 30, 2012 IP
  3. aweks777

    aweks777 Peon

    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    It could be a disk error
     
    aweks777, Mar 31, 2012 IP
  4. wrekoniz3

    wrekoniz3 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    87
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #4
    how can i analyze the core dumps? its a lot of like unreadable data.
     
    wrekoniz3, Mar 31, 2012 IP
  5. TSH

    TSH Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    100
    #5
    TSH, Mar 31, 2012 IP
  6. wrekoniz3

    wrekoniz3 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    87
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #6
    I really dont feel comfortable doing all that on a live server. if it was a development server it would be a little different. I just need to figure out why i got like 20 people on my site, and my server is using 11gigs of ram. Makes no sense.
     
    wrekoniz3, Apr 1, 2012 IP
  7. TSH

    TSH Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    100
    #7
    Since you can't actually take a look at the core dumps. Try just running top to see what is using up the most memory, that should give a rough place to start looking into this.
     
    TSH, Apr 1, 2012 IP
  8. wrekoniz3

    wrekoniz3 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    87
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #8
    Thing is, its mostly HTTP/Apache Requests that fill up the panel when i run Top. I can have 20 people on my site which is a video streaming site (similar to you tube) and the server is using 11 Gig's of Ram. Other Days i can have 50 and it doesn't use more than 8 Gigs. Makes no sense. I need to be able to put like 100 + people on the server at once so i can start making good money. So this is really hurting business in an already bad economy.
     
    wrekoniz3, Apr 2, 2012 IP
  9. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Member

    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #9
    If you think the traffic shouldn't use up high resources, it should definitely be a 3rd party plugin using up resources. Do you have any cache related plugin enabled for the website? If yes, disable it for a while, infact disable all plugins for a while and you may see the resource usage going down.
     
    madaboutlinux, Apr 2, 2012 IP
  10. wrekoniz3

    wrekoniz3 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    87
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #10
    what i am thinking it might be now is i run ad serving for all the ads on the site on the same server. So multiple hits to mysql = more memory usage. So i am going to try removing that as a factor and see how it works out.
     
    wrekoniz3, Apr 4, 2012 IP
  11. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG Active Member Premium Member

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #11
    What additional php modules are loaded?

    If you have additional modules such as xcache, apc etc, disable them and restart the web server.

    Disable them one at a time.
     
    AnthonyG, Apr 7, 2012 IP
  12. wrekoniz3

    wrekoniz3 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    87
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #12
    how can i disable them with out recompiling? through the conf file?
     
    wrekoniz3, Apr 12, 2012 IP