1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Can anyone check my SEO for Forum?

Discussion in 'Search Engine Optimization' started by Technica, Jun 8, 2008.

  1. #1
    Hello SEO experts out here,

    I have a forum at http://www.technicaltalk.net
    The forum is all about computer programming languages, designs & photoshop, technical & programming articles, video tutorials, and SEO.
    SEMrush
    I have performed some SEO on the forum.

    Can anybody take a look and let me know if this is ok for my forum.

    I will really appriciate if I get some suggestions too.

    Thanks in advance!
     
    Technica, Jun 8, 2008 IP
    SEMrush
  2. abhishekjamuar

    abhishekjamuar Banned

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    One thing i can quickly suggest is that you can have SEO friendly URLs that will give you a boost as Google likes them that way.
     
    abhishekjamuar, Jun 8, 2008 IP
  3. Bernard

    Bernard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    107
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    185
    #3
    Looks like every thread and forum link has a session ID as the first parameter of the link. Not good.
     
    Bernard, Jun 8, 2008 IP
  4. Technica

    Technica Active Member

    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #4
    Kindly please elaborate this, this will help me. How did you checked it?
     
    Technica, Jun 8, 2008 IP
  5. Bernard

    Bernard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    107
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    185
    #5
    I simply hovered the mouse over every link on your forum home page. The session ID was the first parameter of every link as seen in the status bar of the browser.

    You might try logging out, visiting other web pages for an hour or so (to clear any cache) and then revisiting your forum home page (or just visiting it from a computer that has never been used to log in to your forum).
     
    Bernard, Jun 8, 2008 IP
    guerilla likes this.
  6. hasan_889

    hasan_889 Banned

    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    as previous members' said - I'll say the same thing, before doing anything, take your PHPSESSID off from your url. Replace this type of url with search engine friendly url's like

    www(.)technicaltalk(.)net/photoshop/

    because everytime webserver generates a session id, search engine consider them different pages. This will hamper your site indexing process.
     
    hasan_889, Jun 8, 2008 IP
  7. Geeurbie

    Geeurbie Peon

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Yep, this should make a big difference.
     
    Geeurbie, Jun 8, 2008 IP
  8. Technica

    Technica Active Member

    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #8
    thanks a lot to all of you for replying.

    I never thought of this before.

    any more suggestions will be appriciated

    Thanks in advacnce!
     
    Technica, Jun 8, 2008 IP
  9. sheds

    sheds Peon

    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    So you mean to say, dynamic URL's are not good for forums...

    If yes, than just take a look for a while in a browser address bar, you will find a dynamic url for every threads in the dp. still dp is the best seo and webmaster forum.

    I don't need to say on this much.
     
    sheds, Jun 8, 2008 IP
  10. harvestre

    harvestre Banned

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    I agreed With Sheds

    All the threads in DP are Dynamic URLs
     
    harvestre, Jun 8, 2008 IP
  11. jitendraag

    jitendraag Notable Member

    Messages:
    3,982
    Likes Received:
    324
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    270
    #11
    I would differ from sheds here. I will give you an example where static URLs might prove to be good.

    Some one search for something for which there is a thread on DP and on another forum. Let us assume that DP comes first and the other forum comes second. Many internet users will click on second result if they find title / description and URL to be relevant. So it's good to have relevant title and URL for organic CTR :)

    I agree that DP is one of the best forums around and it's doing fine even without the static 'looking' links. One of the reasons why I don't like static link in URLs is they make the URL too long and it's often difficult to post the thread URL in PM subject. :)

    We all know that google can index forum pages even if they are dynamic pages but not all SEs can. :)
     
    jitendraag, Jun 8, 2008 IP
  12. Technica

    Technica Active Member

    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #12
    I have made some changes and converted the dynamic URLs into Static URLs.

    I hope now users will not see PHPSESSID in the URLs.

    Kindly review.

    Thanks in advance!
     
    Technica, Jun 14, 2008 IP
  13. Bernard

    Bernard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    107
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    185
    #13
    Much better. Couple suggestions:

    - Change "Home" in nav bar to "TechnicalTalk" or add your main keyword/keyphrase in front of it.

    - Get rid of all your footer links (put them in the web directory)

    - Remove "/index.php" from the TechnicalTalk link in the breadcrumb so the link goes just to the domain name.

    - Your URL rewriting for threads linked on the home page is including the message/post info in the URL instead of as an anchor:

    http://www.technicaltalk.net/suggestions-and-feedback/everything-too-cluttered-t186.0.html;msg709#new

    It would be better if you could format it like so:

    http://www.technicaltalk.net/suggestions-and-feedback/everything-too-cluttered-t186.0.html#msg709;new

    so that the base URL is the same as the thread if navigating from the forum display page.

    Good luck with your site. :)
     
    Bernard, Jun 14, 2008 IP